What I’m Watching (1)

What I'm WatchingWhat I’m Watching is a new feature here at A Librarian’s Library where I will spotlight what I have been watching recently. Whether it be Movies, Television, Documentaries, this is a feature where I will feature what I have become obsessed with or what I just didn’t like at all! Television and Film is a major part of my life, too, and I just want them to be represented on my blog as well!

So, this is my first What I’m Watching post. I decided at the end of last year that I wanted to create a space on this blog for me to talk about television and movies. I LOVE TV, guys, and I am falling in love with movie-watching, too. So here is a space that I will use to feature those shows or movies I have become OBSESSED WITH or that I WILL RANT ABOUT. So, without further ado, here is my first feature!

Television!

MV5BMTU2MDI5NTAyOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjI0OTg4OA@@._V1_SX214_Orphan Black!

Guys, HONESTLY, this show is FREAKIN’ FANTASTIC!!! I watched it in just a couple of days over Winter Break and just couldn’t stop watching! If you are looking for sci-fi/psychological thriller type show with CRAZY twists at every turn and a FANTASTIC story concept and character development, then you SERIOUSLY HAVE TO WATCH! The first season is only 10 episodes long, and season 2 doesn’t start until April, so you have time!

Here is a Two-Sentence Teaser: So this chick arrives back in America to watch someone who looks like her jump in front of a train. So she steals her doppleganger’s life only to find out she gets MORE than she bargained for.

This show is BRILLIANT! Tatiana Maslany deserves every single ounce of credit and praise she is receiving for her phenomenal acting abilities! I AM COMPLETELY OBSESSED AND CANNOT WAIT FOR APRIL!!!

Movies!

I’m about to be real here–I’m not a movie person. But for whatever reason, this year (Yes, all 11 days now!) I have been in SUCH A MOVIE MOOD! It is COMPLETELY throwing me off! So I have already watched 5 movies in 11 days! That is just crazy talk, really!

So, for whatever the reason, I have been spending my #boutofbooks watching #boutsofmovies . So there we have it. And I must admit, I am kind of liking it!

Pitch Perfect! MV5BMTcyMTMzNzE5N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzg5NjM5Nw@@._V1_SX214_

Okay, so this is not a new discovery for me. I watched it last year a couple of times in one day because I LOVED IT SO MUCH! And then I bought it on Black Friday for $4 at Target because I NEEDED IT LIKE WOAH! And then last weekend was a wedding weekend for one of my girls from college, and we watched it TWICE in 12 hours. Why? Because IT IS JUST AMAZING! Seriously, when you need something to lift your spirits and make you laugh, or you just want to sing and dance around your house in your underwear, this movie is PERFECT! ALL THE MUSIC AND ALL THE FEELS! Such a great New Adult Teeny Bopper movie for sure! Right up there with House Bunny, Easy A, Mean Girls, etc. LOVE.

Here is a Two Sentence Teaser: So this girl moves to college but doesn’t want to be there, but her dad makes her join something. So she joins a band of misfit a capella singers and tries to KICK BOOTY in singing competitions!

I have become RE-OBSESSED with this movie, for reals! LOVE!

Other Movies I Have Watched Recently:

MV5BNjY3NjU0OTM2OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDQ2MDE1OQ@@._V1_SX214_ MV5BMTUwODUyODI0Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzAxODY2OQ@@._V1_SX214_ MV5BMTg0NTIzMjQ1NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDc3MzM5OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

The Wall: A German film that is beautifully filmed! This is an isolation story told in memoir form, with primarily silent shots and monologue overlay. It’s a mesmerizing and intriguing film, to be sure, and one that I will probably have to watch again.

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters: Holy crap! What a MUCH BETTER adaptation! The Lightning Thief was pretty awful, but the director really took the second novel to heart and fixed many of the details that were wrong with the first movie. And OMG TYSON! ❤

Prisoners: What a surprising film! So much emotion conveyed in this story! Jake Gyllenhal has really improved as an actor, and I am just impressed with the acting of the entire cast overall! And THIS STORY! SO INTENSE! Holy crap I was on the edge of my seat the entire time! Such a great film! (Edit: Okay, so maybe I should have moved this movie up to the OBSESSED section, because SERIOUSLY! HOLY CRAP! The longer I sit here and think about it, the more I fall in love with everything about it. The characterization, the reality of the human condition when faced with a beyond desperate situation…..sigh. I AM COMPLETELY OVERWHELMED WITH THOUGHTS AND FEELS! One of the best psychological thriller movies I have seen–right up there with David Fincher’s films, for sure!)

Are you a fan of Orphan Black??! PLEEEEEASE LET ME KNOW! I need someone to chat with, for reals!

Also, have you seen any of these movies that I have mentioned? Do you agree with my assessments? Leave a comment and LET’S DISCUSS!

Love and #boutofbooksMOVIES,
Jennifer

6 thoughts on “What I’m Watching (1)

  1. unluckyprimes says:

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about Orphan Black. I’m your opposite though, I don’t do a lot of TV and prefer to watch movies. (Unless I can marathon a series on Netflix!) And I loved Pitch Perfect! So fun.

    I’ve been keeping a spreadsheet of the movies I’ve watched since 2011… My only caveat is that I don’t count repeat views. Once I’ve watched the movie once that year I can’t include it again until the next year. I write down the date I watched it, my rating out of 5 and a little comment about it. It’s really neat to go back and see what I got through in a year.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

