Top Ten Tuesday! (64): My Reading Wishlist!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist!

This is a topic that I missed at the beginning of the year that I really missed doing! So now I am glad that I have the opportunity to do this list now!

This is a list of story ideas I want to force an author to write! heehee

1. Boarding school: I LOVE books set in schools. And I just want more! I love the dynamic of boarding school books!

2. Psychological thrillers: I love the dark and twisted, Gillian-Flynn type stories. I SO want to see them in the YA world!

3. Alternate families: I want more alternate families! LGBT families, blended families, adopted families, foster families. I want YA to explore the dynamics in these families, please!

4. 90’s Historical Fiction: I am a 90’s child, and I want to read a historical book about the 90’s! Like Eleanor & Park does the 80’s. Just a brush, but enough to identify that 90’s culture. LOVE.

5. More friendship books: I love books that focus on development of friendships.

6. New Adult books that are about newlyweds: Or serious relationships. Not them starting, but having a relationship already established and see it grow and struggle and develop.

7. More books about librarians: because librarians are awesome! πŸ˜‰

8. More high fantasy novels that are not like middle ages: More like Jodi Meadows, with high tech and interesting fantastic elements.

9. I want paranormal like Fringe: I LOVE the fringe science idea, and I think that would make SUCH an interesting concept in a book!

10. A Book set in Egypt!: maybe historical, or historical fantasy, or contemporary fantasy, or Egyptian mythological elements….I JUST WANT EGYPT!!!

So, that’s my list of bookish wants! Do you have any recommendations for me that you have read? Leave a comment and let me know! Because I want more of these! =)

Love and Library Booksales,
Jennifer

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (64): My Reading Wishlist!

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    I enjoy late contemporary historical fiction too, so long as it’s done well and the setting is chosen for a reason. It’s pretty obvious when the writer only chose the Eighties or Nineties to wallow in nostalgia and/or show off knowledge of pop culture, instead of because it has real bearing on the storyline.

    I’d also love more books about friendships and blended families. It’s refreshing to see books where school or romance isn’t the main focus.

    My TTT

  2. bookmammal says:

    Totally agree with you on #1-6! More of all of these, please! I’d add that I’d like to see more realistic novels that have a general educational setting–not just boarding schools. As a former teacher, I still love to read books with schools as a backdrop.
    Nice list!

  3. Selah at A Bibliophile's Style says:

    I recently read Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham. It’s not YA but it’s a historical novel set in the 1990s. I really loved the nostalgia of the 90s references.

    Have you tried Agatha Christie’s Death Comes as the End? It’s a murder mystery (of course!) set in ancient Egypt. Excellent!

  4. stacybuckeye says:

    I love this list! As a child of the 80’s I do love books set during the decade, but resist the idea of them being historical! I’m trying to pretend I’m not old πŸ˜‰

  5. Karen C. says:

    Psychological thrillers are right up my alley too! I like something that can keep me on the edge of my seat. I just read a fantastic novel, “Human Source Code” by author Lubos Borik (www.lubosborik.com). The book focuses on main character Detective Klapman and his discovery of an organization that knows how to manipulate human’s DNA and control their behavior. The book is a fast paced read riddled with murder, mystery, and excitement! It will keep you hooked throughout and gives some scary insight on the age old question of nature vs. nurture. Hope you will check it out πŸ™‚

I'd love to know your thoughts!

