Confessions From The Library: Feeling the Book Pressure

confessionsHave you ever felt immense pressure to keep up with your personal TBR list? Have you ever been completely overwhelmed with the stack of books you have waiting for you to read them?

Then you know how I am feeling right now.

I am overwhelmed.

Not in a bad way. Just in a “I WANT TO READ THEM ALL BUT NO TIME!” way.

And I am feeling the pressure to read them quickly, and read them NOW because they are due in two days (or it was due last week) and I haven’t even opened it yet…

This is what I do to myself. I eagerly await the next (or final) book in a series, and when I see the record added to my library system I pounce on it and add my name to the top of the list! And then I check out ALL the books in the series, because I am one that has to re-read them all again before I can read the latest book. And I am REALLY EXCITED to read all these books.

But the pile is too high. And I just don’t have enough time.

I am feeling the pressure. And it is pressure that I put on myself. And pressure to read these books the instant they come out. And pressure for these books to live up to certain expectations. And pressure to read the 45 books I have to read for SCHOOL this semester.

I'm having a panic attackIt’s just a lot of pressure, guys.

I want to read Cress. I want to read Into the Still Blue. I want to read The Worlds We Make. I want to read I want to read Champion, and Three, and Timestorm. But I just don’t have the time or the energy to devote the time I WANT to devote to those series right now. I love to reread series to see how the story progresses from beginning to end. I love doing that. It’s part of the joy of reading a series for me. But I just can’t do it right now.

So, Cress and Into the Still Blue and The Worlds We Make (along with the accompanying books in the series) will go back to the library, unread.

And once I made that decision, once I moved those books from my literal “Library To Read” pile to my “Library To Return” pile, I feel much better.

I put pressure on myself to read these books, and read them now, right after they come out (because I am not big enough to get ARCs of them beforehand). But what I have realized today is this: I don’t have to. I can read them in a couple of months.

Right now, I am going to read my children’s and juvenile books. And the occasional YA standalone. Because I can handle one book at a time. Just not 3.

And that’s okay.

Pressure’s off.

phew

Has anyone else felt like this recently? What did you do to cope?

Love and Silly String,
Jennifer

3 thoughts on “Confessions From The Library: Feeling the Book Pressure

  1. Pamela D says:

    Every so often I decide that I need to read a book that is coming out; however, I haven’t read the four previous books in the series. I would never catch up on the series, and I would have to cancel the hold. I try not to do that anymore. With that said, I am madly reading The Way of Kings, so I can get Words of Radiance at the library next week on pub day. 🙂

  2. Kailana says:

    I actually am on a library ban this year. I am just not paying enough attention to my TBR and I need to! I would sort of go back and forth on the stress when I was going, though. It was fine if I only read library books, but when I added in review copies and my TBR I was overwhelmed.

  3. Rachael @ Rachael Turns Pages says:

    Part of what I love about the library is the due dates because I need a deadline in order to read the books. There are times when I get too many books and I can not read them all by their individual deadlines and I have to return books with out reading them, but the great news about the library is you can just check them out again when you are ready to read them. I also feel pressure to read new releases. I used to not realize when new books came out until I joined goodreads. Now I know when new books are coming out and I’m excited for them to come out, but I often don’t have the time to read them when they come out. My sister and I discussed it and when we are on a super long hold list the book always comes when we don’t have time to read it so we drop whatever book we are reading and just read that one because we don’t want to wait another couple of months for the book.

    I’m really passionate about libraries if you can’t tell. I will be host a library book readathon in March if you would be interested in doing a guest post about benefits of your local library or really anything you can think of just email me. rachaelc1020@gmail.com.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

