Top Ten Tuesday! (65): Popular Author I’ve Never Read

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Popular Authors I have NEVER Read!

Hahaha what a great topic! What a great way to analyze the holes in my reading habits! Here we go!

1. Laura Ingles Wilder: I have read not one of her books. And this is a crime that I will rectify, if not before, than definitely after I have kids of my own. I will be reading these aloud to my future kids.

2. Jerry Spinelli: Another children’s author that I have not read a single one of his books! As a future children’s library, I will be fixing this soon! 😉

3. Sara Dessen: I know, I know. I don’t know why I haven’t read her yet. But I did get one of her books at a library sale last weekend. So SOON!

4. Agatha Christie: This classic mystery writer…I need to read her. I want to, I don’t know why I haven’t. I feel like she is a legacy that I need to be a part of.

5. Janet Evanovich: She is such a popular author who has written MANY books in many different series. And I haven’t read one.

6. Anne Rice: No, I have not read any of her vampires. I feel like I should, but then again…I don’t know.

7. Nora Roberts: And all romance, really. But as she is one of those authors that I feel like every girl/woman has picked up before, and I haven’t. Am I missing out?

8. Phillipa Gregory: And all historical fiction. This is a genre I have never really been interested in, but now I am. Any recs on where to start?

The Author I have attempted and haven’t finished:

9. Jane Austen: I know, I know! I have tried reading Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility, but I just couldn’t finish them! I am going to try reading Northanger Abbey this summer, as it is a little more synical lol. So we shall see…

The One Author I have Purposely AVOIDED!

10. James Patterson: I avoid him on principle. Maybe he started out as a great writer. Now he just has other people write books under his name with his approval. Maybe some of his stuff is good, but on principle, I don’t read it.

That is all.

Who haven’t you read? Let me know!

Love and Dance Academy,
Jennifer

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (65): Popular Author I’ve Never Read

  1. bookmammal says:

    Oh my gosh–I truly thought that I was going to be the only one here who had Jane Austen on my list!
    I used to LOVE reading Agatha Christie’s books! They’re a bit dated today, but still really good mysteries–and without graphic violence. And yes-you really do need to read at least one of the Little House books! 🙂

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      Haha nope, don’t worry.My dislike for Jane Austen’s style is why I haven’t actually read a whole book by her. But I did read a bit of Northanger last year and it was SO DIFFERENT. So we shall see! =)

  2. Michelle (Pink Polka Dot Book Blog) says:

    I’ll never read James Patterson either. He’s just a name on a book, not a writer anymore. I read Stargirl (Jerry Spinelli) and thought it was just ok. I think it’s definitely a middle grade FOR middle graders… it didn’t translate to me. Good message and all, but ehhh. And Sarah Dessen has been on a ton of lists this week, so you’re not alone (although her older stuff is awesome IMO).

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

  3. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know says:

    I’ve never read Sarah Dessen or Nora Roberts either. I picked up a Sarah Dessen from the library but had to return it before I got around to it. I do however really enjoy the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. I try to listen to those on audiobook because Lorelai King brings the characters and story to life. (I think someone else narrates the earlier novels in the series, but she’s the best.). Highly recommend that series for laughing out loud. My sister has read her other stuff and says it’s not as funny. 😦 Great list!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  4. Tiffany says:

    You MUST read Sarah Dessen! She is one of my absolute favorite contemporary authors. Her books just make you feel good, at least for me! I have not read several of these authors as well. I, too, avoid Patterson’s books because they’re not my style. I haven’t read any Nora Roberts either, mostly because their adult books. Ha! Thanks for stopping by my blog :]

    Tiffany
    Beneath the Jacket Reviews

  5. majoringinliterature says:

    I’ve never read any of Anne Rice’s or Janet Evanovich’s books either. Austen and Christie are among my favourite writers, though. You can’t help getting caught up in Christie’s plots; she’s very hard to put down. 🙂

  6. Teisha says:

    Almost all of your authors are women! You HAVE to read Laura Ingels Wilder. My grandmother got me into those books because we used to watch Little House on the Prarie together. (Good times.) And, Sarah Dessen is another good read. I suggest starting with The Truth About Forever, which is considered a favorite of hers by many (including me). I also like This Lullaby and Lock & Key. For Phillipa Gregory, I started The Other Boleyn Girl and could not finish. Maybe I’ll return to it someday. Lastly, Jane Austen. I took a class on Austen last semester. I think you should definitely give Pride and Prejudice another go, and I recommend Sense and Sensibility. I didn’t very much like Northanger Abbey, but to be honest it’s difficult to get through most of her books!

  7. Pamela D says:

    Agatha Christie is great. And Then There Are None and Murder on the Orient Express are fantastic. I am doing a Jane Austen read-a-thon this year, if you want to join in. 🙂

  8. stacybuckeye says:

    LOL, avoiding Patterson on principle! I used to read him (never a huge fan) but have since cast him aside on pronciple too 🙂
    I wasn’t sure I’d make it through my first Austen so I did the audio first, It totally helped me to hear the accent. I went on to read and love two more.
    Yes, everyone has read Nora Roberts, BUT there are a lot of great romance writers out there (My fave for historicals is old school Judith McNaught and contemporary Susan Elizabeth Phillips) that do it better,

  9. Elisabeth H. says:

    Never read a word of Patterson, for the same reason you mentioned. I am not a fan of Spinelli, Dessen, or Nora Roberts. In fact, I despise Nora Roberts’ books…just not a romance book person, really. I’m a huge fan of Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, and Laura Ingalls Wilder, though! 🙂

I'd love to know your thoughts!

