Book Review: Infinite

13085374Title/Author: Infinite by Jodi Meadows
(Incarnate/New Souls #3)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Published: January 28th, 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books

Hardcover, 418 pages

How I Got This Book: Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?: I NEEEEEEDED It. After the first two (Incarnate Review here, Asunder Review here) I NEEEEEDED IT!

Book Jacket Blurb: “DESTRUCTION
The Year of Souls begins with an earthquake—an alarming rumble from deep within the earth—and it’s only the first of greater dangers to come. The Range caldera is preparing to erupt. Ana knows that as Soul Night approaches, everything near Heart will be at risk.

FLIGHT
Ana’s exile is frightening, but it may also be fortuitous, especially if she can convince her friends to flee Heart and Range with her. They’ll go north, seeking answers and allies to stop Janan’s ascension. And with any luck, the newsouls will be safe from harm’s reach.

CHOICE
The oldsouls might have forgotten the choice they made to give themselves limitless lifetimes, but Ana knows the true cost of reincarnation. What she doesn’t know is whether she’ll have the chance to finish this one sweet life with Sam, especially if she returns to Heart to stop Janan once and for all.

With gorgeous romance and thrilling action, the final book in the Incarnate trilogy offers a brilliant conclusion to the compelling questions of this fascinating world, where one new girl is the key to the lives of millions.”

Thoughts:

Spoilers are unavoidable for earlier books in the trilogy. I will try to keep it as spoiler-free as possible, though. This will be a reaction post more so than a book review….

I was really excited to read the conclusion to this series this year! This is a series that came out right when I started blogging, and it was one of the first fantasy YA books I read. I have a special place in my heart for this trilogy. So you can imagine my excitement and giddiness when this book arrived on my hold shelf! I re-read the first two books and then read this one, knowing I would be in for a wild ride!

But the ride wasn’t so explicitly wild. While this book stays true to the beautiful, lyrical prose that I fell in love with in the first two novels, there were some aspects of the story in the final book that I just couldn’t stand behind as a reader. Even within this fantasy world, there were some details and plot points that I had a really difficult time believing. A really difficult time…

There are just some plot points in this story that were just a little too convenient. And a little TOO fantastical, even for a fantasy. I just felt that, while I understand WHY things happened the way they did, and that it makes sense in a way, in another way it was just TOO convenient and too wrapped up. But once I suspended my beliefs and just went with it, I did quite enjoy it!

This is a FANTASTIC, DRAMATIC, and EXCITING finale to such a great fantasy trilogy. All of your questions about this world are answered, the character relationships develop even more, you get to know the minor characters even more, and, of course, Ana and Sam! Their relationship continues to grow and struggle and blossom….it is one of the truest relationships I have read in YA. Yes, they kind of started with a bit of instalove (though it is the most beautiful instalove I have ever read). But then they have struggled through the problems that their relationship poses, and their conversations and feelings and struggles are real. And plus, they are just wonderful.

I also really love how strong Ana has become. Power to the young, to the brave, to the female! 😉 She is fearless, she is strong, she is fierce, she is beautiful, she is fleeting. Ana is one of those understated, underrated heroines that I think needs to be showcased more.

So, upon really working through my feelings, I have discovered that I really do think this is a fitting end to a fantastic fantasy trilogy. You should read this. Really really!

My Bookshelf Rating:

4shelfA Fourth Shelf Book!

An overall exciting and powerful ending to a great fantasy trilogy. While some aspects of this story were hard for me to believe and fully support, my love for this world, the characters, the romance, and the storytelling is full-force. This is such a great and unique world, and I do love it!

Love and Revenge,
Jennifer

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Infinite

I'd love to know your thoughts!

