Book Review: Better Off Friends

17228280Title/Author: Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg

Genre: Young Adult, Realistic Contemporary Fiction, Friendship

Published: February 25th, 2014 by Point

Hardcover, 276 pages

How I Got This Book: Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?: Elizabeth Eulberg is on my auto-read/auto-hold list. DUH! =)

Book Jacket Blurb: “For Macallan and Levi, it was friends at first sight. Everyone says guys and girls can’t be just friends, but these two are. They hang out after school, share tons of inside jokes, their families are super close, and Levi even starts dating one of Macallan’s friends. They are platonic and happy that way.

Eventually they realize they’re best friends — which wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t keep getting in each other’s way. Guys won’t ask Macallan out because they think she’s with Levi, and Levi spends too much time joking around with Macallan, and maybe not enough time with his date. They can’t help but wonder . . . are they more than friends or are they better off without making it even more complicated?”

Thoughts:

I have been searching and waiting for a book that explores a boy-girl friendship. This was such a crucial part of my young adulthood, and I just wanted to find a story that reflected my experiences. Plus, the dynamics of guy-girl friendships are so interesting and worth exploring. So imagine my pure joy when I heard about the premise for Elizabeth Eulberg’s new book! I was so incredibly excited for this book, I put it on hold IMMEDIATELY.

The first thing I have to talk about is the structure of this story. I loved how this book alternated between Macallan and Levi–gives two perspectives on the same events. Plus, this book is driven by a present-day IM conversation, which I just love. It really sets the tone for their relationship as intermittent spurts of insight throughout the book.

I loved to read a book that explored the development of a best friendship between a girl and a boy, and how it developed over time, from tweens to high school. I found every single aspect of this story and Macallan and Levi’s relationship to have extremely realistic development, hitting all the key moments in a friendship with a member of the opposite sex. I could go into specific detail, but I don’t want to spoil this story for you. Just know that this story of friendship is heartwarming, realistic, humorous, loveable, and a perfect contemporary read!

There was only one element of this story that I didn’t really like as much, but it didn’t ruin my experience with reading this story. It would have just made it that much better.

Elizabeth Eulberg once again entertains and makes me squee with enjoyment and giddiness! I just love her stories and her writing and her twitter feed! 😉

My Bookshelf Rating:

5shelfA Top Shelf Book!

Such an adorable story about the development of a boy-girl friendship. This so realistically shows the complications and wonders of having a best friend of the opposite sex. This is such a joyous read, I just enjoyed every minute of it. Having this story told in dual perspective–it really allows for great character growth! A lovely read, from beginning to end.

Love and Cocoa Puffs,
Jennifer

One thought on “Book Review: Better Off Friends

I'd love to know your thoughts!

