Bout of Books 10! Sign Up, Goals, and Updates

It’s that time again!

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I am SO ready for this week! I have an empty week ahead! It is the week in between brother’s graduation and BFF’s wedding, so I have all the time to read (other than when I’m working). I am just really excited to dedicate a week to reading!

I will make a few goals for myself, to keep me on track (so that I don’t get TOO distracted by television).

Goals:

1. Read at least 150 pages a day. (1000 for the week!)
Total Pages Read: 1379pages
Current Total Minutes Listened: 115 minutes

2. Finish 4 Books.
Currently Finished 4 Book: Ruins by Dan Wells (last 88 pages), The Selection by Kiera Cass, The Elite by Kiera Cass, The One by Kiera Cass

3. Visit 3 blogs a day.
Currently I have visited 11 new blogs!

4. Write 2 posts/reviews.
Posted Ten Six Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

My Reading Pile:

Finish Ruins by Dan Wells first!

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

The Selection by Kiera Cass (reread)

The Elite by Kiera Cass (reread)

The One by Kiera Cass

Audiobook: World War Z by Max Brooks (12 hours)

Readathon Progress!

Monday, May 12th:

17607716 3:15pm: Okay, well I pushed through the last 100 pages of Ruins today to finish that trilogy! Just love it. Now I am deciding what I want to read next! Decisions decisions….. 😉

12:01am: I decided that I couldn’t read another book until I read The One, because I got it today from the library Book Review: The Selectionand it is just SO PRETTY! So I have picked up The Selection for a reread and read 77 pages tonight.

Totals for Monday:
Pages Read: 156 pages
Minutes Listened: 55 minutes of World War Z (Disc 1)
Books Finished: Ruins by Dan Wells
Books Started: The Selection by Kiera Cass, World War Z by Max Brooks (audio)
Blog Visited: Tiny Library, The Lit Girl, Other Women’s Stories
Posts: Ten Six Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

~*~*~

Tuesday, May 13th:

 162480682:02pm: So I accidentally slept a REALLY long time last night (over 10 hours). The exhaustion from the last couple of traveling weeks has really taken its toll I guess. I did read another 50 or so pages in The Selection last night before falling asleep, though. Right now I am doing bloggy things while watching the Voice, but I plan on spending my afternoon/early evening reading at a coffeeshop because I WANT TO FINISH THIS SERIES LIKE NOW! That is all.

8:16pm: Well, I went to Starbucks and read outside for 3 hours while sipping my Iced Vanilla Latte and enjoying the beautiful afternoon weather. I finished The Selection and have gotten through the first 100 pages of The Elite. It was glorious reading weather, and I didn’t want to leave, but sadly I had to go to the grocery store to get some food for the week.
BUT I TOTALLY FOUND SOME DISCOUNTED BOOKS AT PUBLIX! And I TOTALLY GOT Ask the Passengers by A.S. King and Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer for $1.67 each! What a bargain! =)

9:40pm: Have now eaten a late dinner and watched yesterday’s episode of 24! Now I will continue reading tonight, because I really can’t do anything else until I finish this series! My hubby is a great sport, he said he would play Skyrim while I read. What a nice hubby! 😉

12:15am: Okay, I wanted to finish  The Elite before midnight, but I was 15 minutes late. Oh well. I FINISHED! Day Two is complete!

8908

Totals for Tuesday:
Pages Read: pages 78-324 of The Selection (250), 1-323 of The Elite (323) = 573 pages
Minutes Listened: about 40 minutes of  World War Z (now on disc 2)
Books Finished: 2 (The Selection and The Elite)
Books Started: 1 (The Elite)
Books Continued: 1 (World War Z)
Blog Visited: R Squared, Padfoot’s Library, A Home Between Pages, Paper Worlds and Swirls of Ink,
Posts: None

~*~*~*~

Wednesday, May 14th:

1584436212:35am: I GET TO START THE ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM SO EXCITED!!!! I’m going to read as much as I can before I go to sleep because I want to try to finish it before going to work tomorrow at 1pm but we shall see. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!

1:55am: Going to bed with The One. Already on page 75. I am so excited, so nervous, so anxious……this book gives me all the feels, and I am having anxiety about finishing this series, for better or worse. So Goodnight for now, readers! See you on the flip side!

12:32pm: Well, I haven’t finished The One yet. I am only about 200 pages in. So I will have to wait until after work to finish. Eight hours of me sitting there wondering how this book will end! EEEEE! (Yes, I realize that I am fangirling a ton, but hey! Who can blame me, really? 😉  )

10:47pm: Got home from work and watched tonight’s Survivor (Holy crap, y’all!!!) and some other tv. So I won’t finish The One until after midnight. Oh well!

Totals for Wednesday:
Pages Read: 1-252 of The One (252 pages)
Minutes Listened: 20 minutes (disc 2)
Books Finished: None
Books Started: 1 (The One)
Books Continued: 1 (World War Z)
Blog Visited: None. Oops! I’ll make up for it tomorrow!
Posts: None

~*~*~*~

Thursday, May 15th:

2:00am: Finished The One. Guys, I can’t even….nope. I don’t know what to do now, because surely I can’t go to bed right now, and there is no way I can start another book. THAT. BOOK.18053148

11:30am: So I decided to pick up Side Effects May Vary, as that is a book that is very different from The Selection series. I am still thinking and processing that series after finishing it last night. Sigh. In the mean time, I am spending theMV5BMjA5ODgyNzcxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzkzOTYzMDE@._V1_SX214_AL_ morning watching a book-to-film and Academy Award Nominee, Philomena, as it was due yesterday to the library. 😉

9:05pm: Well, I had the intention of reading some this afternoon. But instead I accidentally fell back asleep for 3 hours. Sigh. I guess I was really just exhausted. But it’s okay, every once in a while you just need those kind of days. I did finish Philomena, which is such a sad movie (because this story is true for her and hundreds of other women, and that just makes me really sad and upset). But the acting is superb!
I did read 4 picture books today, so that is something!
I have been watching my South Carolina baseball game this evening (GO GAMECOCKS!), and then me and hubs are gonna watch something, whether it be another movie or catch up on TV. So I doubt my reading will be much more than it already is. Oh well. I will try and visit a few blogs while I am watching something, so at least I’ll get that accomplished! 😉

.

Totals for Thursday:
Pages Read: 253-323 (70 pages) of The One, 1-14 of Side Effects May Vary = 84 pages
Minutes Listened: None
Books Finished: The One by Kiera Cass
Books Started: Side Effects May Vary
Books Continued: 1 (World War Z)
Blog Visited: A Little Novelist, Met In Eleven, A Nanny’s Literary Musings, Rachael Turns Pages,
Posts: None

~*~*~*~

Friday, May 16th

Well, I totally forgot to update yesterday. I worked an 8 hour shift, including the summer reading kick-off event last night, and then I met my BFF who is getting married next weekend for margaritas. Somehow I did manage to read about 80 pages or so, as well as listen to about 40 minutes of my audiobook.

Totals for Friday:
Pages Read: 15-100 of Side Effects May Vary (85 pages)
Minutes Listened: 40 minutes (Discs 2-3)
Books Finished: None
Books Started: None
Books Continued: 2 (Side Effects May Vary and World War Z)
Blog Visited: None =(
Posts: None

~*~*~*~

Saturday, May 17th

8:41pm: Another work shift today. I have listened and read a little, but I have also been in a movie mood. I watched The Grey last night, and tonight I am watching Jurassic Park and then who knows what I’ll watch after that =) So I doubt I’ll get much done tonight. But I am enjoying spending time with hubby tonight!

Totals for Saturday:
Pages Read: 100-200 of Side Effects May Vary (100 PAGES)
Minutes Listened: 20 minutes
Books Finished: None
Books Started: None
Books Continued: 2 (Side Effects May Vary and World War Z)
Blog Visited: None
Posts: None

~*~*~*~

Sunday, May 18th:

Totals for Sunday:
Pages Read: 200-330 of Side Effect May Vary
Minutes Listened: 20 minutes
Books Finished: 1 (Side Effects May Vary)
Books Started: None
Books Continued:1( World War Z)
Blog Visited: None
Posts: None

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books 10! Sign Up, Goals, and Updates

  1. cataluna6 says:

    I’m hoping to read Side Effects May Vary this year, I’ve heard it’s quite good. I think 150 pages a day is a good number, I would love it if I can read that each day.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      I lowered it from 200 just because I know I am working 3 full days this week. Plus, that is still gonna be more than I have read the past couple of weeks, and I need to get through this reading pile I have =)

  2. Rachael @ Rachael Turns Pages says:

    You are doing amazing. You have finished so much this week. I haven’t been doing all that great. I’m reading a really slow book currently and it is slowing my down. I don’t want to read it. Then I’m also rereading one of my favorites and flying through that quite quickly. I have not started The Selection series. Mostly I’m nervous about starting it since it has been compared to The Hunger Games and I couldn’t make my way through The Hunger Games books.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      I really couldn’t concentrate on anything until I finished that series, and I had a whole day off Tuesday, which is why I got A LOT done. The Selection series is like reading a reality show with a little more depth. I definitely enjoyed the series immensely, it is definitely what I would call a guilty pleasure (by far not the most well-written, but it is definitely entertaining and addicting!) series! I would recommend it!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

