Top Ten Tuesday! (69): The Books I Powered Through

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

Another interesting topic of discussion! For this week, I will list the books, tell the reason why I almost stopped, and then let you know if I thought it was worth it to finish. šŸ˜‰

So, here goes nothing!

19288043Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I Almost Put It Down Because: After reading her first two novels, I REALLY found this one to be extremely slow in its development. I got really bored through the first 200 pages. But I asked my coworker if it was worth it to finish, and she told me yes, so I kept on keeping on until I finished it.

Was It Worth It?: Yes and no. I really loved the direction she took the story, but it was just really slowly turning until the last 75 pages, when it just started swirling violently until the end.

Recommendation: Read Sharp Objects instead, if you want a dark and twisty novel.

~*~*~*~

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs 9460487

I Almost Put It Down Because: I LOVED the first 100 pages. And then the story took a dramatic turn in style and plot, and I got really turned off by it. But I was still intrigued enough to see where it was going and how it ended.

Was It Worth It?: Not for me. It was weird. And it was rushed. AND then there was a sequel, and it just completely turned me off the book. Oh well.

Recommendation: Don’t take my word for it. Most people love this book!

~*~*~*~

12578077Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I Almost Put It Down Because: Well, to be perfectly frank, it was pretty bad. The writing was blah, the plot was Twilight with aliens…it was just bad. But I really wanted to see if it was going to get better because, holy cow, how many blogger LOVE this series.

Was It Worth It?: No. Here’s why.

Recommendation: Again, most people love this book.

~*~*~*~

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell 49628

I Almost Put It Down Because: The structure of this novel makes it really difficult to invest in. AND the first section of this book uses extremely esoteric vocabulary. It was a hard novel to get the feel of, even though it was intriguing. But at the same time, I didn’t want to put it down either.

Was It Worth It?: Am I glad I read it? Yes. Because I appreciate the post-post modern style and structure. But do I really like it? I appreciate it. But the style and structure also interrupt the story. But this is a novel not about story, but about structure.

Recommendation: Read the novel if you are interested in it at all. And most definitely watch the film, because the film is freakin’ BRILLIANT!

~*~*~*~

18054175The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick

I Almost Put It Down Because: The description of this book is really misleading. I was waiting for the adventurous roadtrip to begin, but it just never did. But I kept reading mostly because I loved the quirkiness and I was part of the blog tour.

Was It Worth It?: Yes. I fell in love with this quirky story and the quirky characters, and I love Quick’s writing style.

Recommendation: Read this, especially if you have read and liked Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock!

~*~*~*~

Okay, so that’s all I could really think of. Most of the time, if I don’t like something, or I am bored, I will DNF. So that’s why this list is shorter than 10. Oh well.

What books did you almost put down? Did any of mine make your list? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Love and Jon Snow, who is so fine,
Jennifer

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (69): The Books I Powered Through

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    Some of the books by my list were Hermann Hesse’s The Glass Bead Game, The Divine Comedy, and A Farewell to Arms. I’m most glad I gave second chances to the first two, but I had to force myself to finish gagging down the Hemingway book.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      Oh Hemingway, I haven’t finished a book by him because I got bored. But I also haven’t picked him up since high school. I plan on seeing if I can pick him up again sometime soon to see how I feel about him now.

  2. Rachel says:

    Ha! I had the same experience as you with Miss Peregrine. I loved the beginning, then became increasingly disappointed and frustrated. I can’t remember what I decided in the end, but I know I wasn’t particularly excited when I heard the second book was out.

  3. Reviews from a Bookworm says:

    I tried to read Cloud Atlas but ended up putting it down, it wasn’t that interesting for me. I do love the look of the film so I think I will watch that instead of reading the book. Miss Peregrine looked weird and so I didn’t give it a try, I’ve seen mixed reviews so I am still unsure. Gone Girl was a weird but interesting read, I enjoyed it for the most part. I plan to read Sharp Objects so I am glad you seemed to like that one. Nice picks šŸ™‚ Here’s my TTT.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      Oh my gosh the film was BEAUTIFUL! and it actually added more to the book/story. It’s one of the few films I would recommend OVER the book! So definitely watch it! AND SHARP OBJECTS OMG! =)

  4. LilysBookBlog says:

    oh i still havent read Miss Peregrine but now i’m worried i won’t like it either *shakes head* and i have to read that Jennifer L Armtrout series because i read white hot kiss and seoruisly loved it so i wanted to give her other books a try but now i just don’t know *shakes head again*

  5. Aly @ My Heart Hearts Books says:

    I haven’t read Gone Girl or Miss Peregrine’s yet. I want to like them both. I hear a lot of great things, so I’m hoping that I’ll like it. Especially Miss P’s because I already bought the book :/ But now I’m scared I might not because I don’t know how I handle weird…

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Aly @ My Heart Hearts Books

  6. tiffnanny says:

    I couldn’t finish Gone Girl. I was listening to the audio and I tried for over a week to get past the first four discs and I just couldn’t do it. I know a lot of people really liked it, but it just wasn’t for me.

    Great list by the way. I’m one of those who liked Obsidian, but I can completely see why you didn’t. For me I was more excited about the comparisons to Roswell and it was definitely one of the main reasons I liked Obsidian as much as I did. Actually, I liked her Covenant series significantly more, if you think you might give something else of hers a try.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

