Book Review: The One

15844362Title/Author: The One by Kiera Cass
(The Selection #3)

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance

Published: May 6th, 2014 by HarperTeen

Hardcover, 323 pages

How I Got This Book: Put it on hold at my library and got it immediately

Why I Picked It Up?: DUH! I am OBSESSED with this series! heehee

Book Jacket Blurb: “The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.”

Thoughts:

So this review will be short and sweet. Why? Because it is the final book in a series, and I don’t want to spoil much.  (If you want to read reviews for the first two books, you can: The Selection and The Elite).

So, instead of doing a review of this book in particular, I will make a short list as to why I think that this series–despite all of the drama surrounding it over the last couple of years–is ACTUALLY WORTH READING!

1. First and foremost, this series is just FUN!: Honestly, each and every time I have picked up these books (and I have read them multiple times) I just ENJOY them. They are not the most well-written stories I have ever read. The characters are not the greatest or most pleasant ones I have ever met while reading. But that doesn’t matter! What matters is that, from the very first page of The Selection to the final page of The One, I was on the edge of my seat reading such an exciting and FUN book series! If you are a lover of reality TV or the idea of The Bachelor scenario, then you will enjoy this book.

2. It is not just a beauty contest: When I first read the blurb about The Selection, I wanted to read it because I love watching the trainwreck that is The Bachelor, and this was finally a book that is so similar! And honestly, I loved the idea of a dystopian world deciding the next Queen by selecting girls from the factions districts regions to try and win over the Prince’s heart. But I was surprised with Prince Maxon’s character. From the first time we really meet him, we get a glimpse at the fact that, no matter how silly this contest seems to be, Maxon is very serious about finding a partner. And while there is the fair amount of girl drama, there is still a seriousness surrounding Maxon’s intentions, and that makes this book worth reading.

3. America is a girl that you can root for: I will be honest, if I was ranking women protagonists, America would not be in my top five. In fact, sometimes I even find her annoying. But that is because she knows what she wants, and as the series progresses she surprises herself when her ideas and feelings about the Selection situation change. And yes, sometimes that does make her fickle. And yes, sometimes that does make her headstrong. But throughout this series she grows to become a woman that she is proud of, and that makes us proud of her, too.

4. There are surprises at every turn: As I have mentioned before, I don’t love this series because it is the absolute best thing that I have ever read in my entire life. I love this series because it is exciting! It is predictable and unpredictable at the same time! The characters in this story continue to surprise you! The story starts out in The Selection as something light and fluffy, but by The One it turns into something much bigger than just Prince Maxon finding a wife.

This series–and this book, in particular–is not without flaws. Sometimes the pacing is wrong. Sometimes things are not developed the way they should. Sometimes you just want to strangle every character in this book! But that is not what I focused on while I was reading. While I read this series–and even now, as I reflect upon some weeks after I finished it–I didn’t care about the negatives. I was too excited and too enamored and too involved in this story to let those flaws affect my reading experience.

From beginning the end, The One is the perfect conclusion to a far from perfect series. But sometimes I just need something fun and adrenaline pumping! Sometimes I just want something that excites me and makes me smile! And that is what this series is for me. Just pure joy, just pure fun. And I hope that it can be that way for you, too!

Have you read this series yet? Did you like the conclusion of The One? Let me know! 😉

My Bookshelf Rating:

4shelfA Fourth Shelf Book!

I was pleasantly surprised with how this series wrapped up! This book continues to dig into each character, and we are able to see them come into their own. This final book becomes more than just a fluffy Bachelor-esque game–it allows our characters to step up as leaders, as soldiers, as heroes…all while still making you giggle with glee!

Love and Ritz Toasted Chips,
Jennifer

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The One

  1. Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life says:

    I read the Selection when it first came out, despite the drama, and liked it. It was definitely fun, and I have full intentions to pick up the second book after reading your review for this one! I definitely see why you say this series is fun, because honestly, it is. I thought the first book was generally predictable, but there were definitely one or two things I didn’t see coming. The main character frustrated me a little, but it’s nice to see that she really develops over the course of the series. It’s also really interesting to see that this series gains depth as the books progress.

    Lovely review, Jennifer! I guess I’ll have to finish this series after all. =)

I'd love to know your thoughts!

