Top Ten Tuesday! (71): Cover Trends

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Cover Trends! The Good and the Bad!

I REALLY like this topic! Covers are the first thing I see when a new book comes out, so they are SUPER important in my first impressions of a book. So I will showcase some of my FAVORITE trends and some of my MOST HATED! So get comfy, and here we go!

WHAT I LOVE!

Maps: Maps draw me in immediately, because maps mean traveling or roadtrips, and I LOVE THOSE stories!

No Place to FallLet’s Get LostOff the Beaten Page: The Best Trips for Lit Lovers, Book Clubs, and Girls on Getaways

The Cartoon Couple: Because HOW CUTE ARE THEY!

One Man GuyGuy in Real LifeEleanor & Park

Crazy Girl Silhouettes: Because they just make the book look so dang intriguing!

The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone: A NovelOne Kick (Kick Lannigan, #1)Arclight (Arclight, #1)

The Far Away Couple: Because it makes the book seem like there may be more to the story than just the romance!

The Geography of You and MeWhat I Thought Was TrueMy Best Friend, Maybe

Intriguing Text-Only: Graphics and text choice make SUCH AN IMPACT!

I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without YouI'll Give You the SunThe Year of the Rat

The Scrapbook Look: I don’t know what else to call it, but this!

The End or Something Like ThatBroken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend (Broken Hearts & Revenge, #1)Bad English: A History of Linguistic Aggravation

The Not So Great…BLAH

The “Hide-the-Kiss” Cover: We know what you are doing behind there. You may as well not hide it. It just looks stupid!

Taste TestThe Fine Art of Pretending (The Fine Art of Pretending, #1)The Fine Art of Truth or Dare

The Psychological Half-Face: While the text of the first two really draw me in, the face on the left side of the cover does nothing for me other than kind of creep my out, to be honest.

Close My EyesInsomnia (The Night Walkers, #1)Dear Daughter

The Feet: UGGGGGGGGGGGH it’s overused! Everyone has them! MOVE ON!

Twelve StepsMake it Count (Bowler University, #1)The Last Best Kiss

The Sideways Title: Nope. Not as cool as you think it is!

TeaseHalf Bad (Half Life, #1)Killer  Instinct

~*~*~*~

So I hope I haven’t offended you, dear readers! But I am just being honest! 😉

Do you like covers I don’t? Do you hate covers I love? Do you agree? Leave a comment, I’d LOVE to know!

Love and Pixie Stix,
Jennifer

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (71): Cover Trends

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    I agree with all of your dislikes! It’s like a lot of publishers and cover artists feel they have to use the same 4-5 styles over and over again. I really disagreed with a recent article claiming that clichés help to sell books, since the reader knows what to expect. I tend to stay away from clichéd book covers, and go for the more original, personal covers. Original doesn’t have to mean totally out of left field, but at least not firmly planted within the common styles!

  2. Broc's Bookcase says:

    Wow, I love you list. Totally agree with all of these. Map covers are awesome, I especially love Let’s Get Lost, and the way that it doesn’t pick out places but more what happens in those places eg. Loss, Hope, Love. Such a cool idea.
    I also love text on a cover and really like your choices for ‘text only’ and ‘scrapbook’. I always think that the text, especially the title is the most important thing so it annoys me when some covers don’t feature it properly!
    And yes, the ‘hide a kiss’ covers are just stupid! What are they thinking?!?!?!

  3. Aylee (@AyleeArgh) says:

    Oh yes, love the covers that have text only presented in an interesting way! It has the ability to cause such an impact! And yeah… I’m going to have to agree with all the “not great” cover trends on your list.

  4. Melissa @ i swim for oceans says:

    I didn’t realize there were so many covers that utilized maps! I think that’s awesome, and it’s definitely something I could learn to love! Font-based covers are a thing for me, too. They are so visually striking 🙂

I'd love to know your thoughts!

