Librarian Talk: My Children’s Lit Semester

Librarian Talk

Librarian Talk is a new feature here at A Librarian’s Library where I will start talking about Librarian Things. This could be things I learn during my Master’s Program, or things I encounter when I’m working, or just things I read and want to discuss. This is a Librarian Discussion space where I can talk about all things Library!

Reflection on Children’s Literature

So, I know that this post is a little late, as my semester ended almost two months ago. But, as you all know, one of the classes I took last semester was Materials and Services for Children K-6. That class was one of the best classes I have taken so far in my Master’s Program. Not only did we discuss issues specifically relating to library services for children and types of children’s literature, we also had a massive reading assignment allowing me to explore all sorts of genres for all different ages!

I thought it would be interesting to share with you exactly what this assignment was and what I read for it. In the next week or so I will be posting reviews and mini-reviews about these books, but here is the big list for your viewing pleasure, now!

For this assignment, I read I total of 45 children’s and middle grade fiction!

Four Caldecott Award or Caldecott Honor books
1. A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead, Illustrated by Erin E. Stead 17262290
2. Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle
3. Journey by Aaron Becker
4. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

Three Newbery Award or Newbery Honor books
1. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
2. The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes
3. The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Three Picture Books11594337
1. My Blue is Happy by Jessica Young
2. Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale by Mo Willems
3. At the Same Moment, Around the World by Clotilde Perrin

Two Graphic Novels/Comic Books for Children
1. Owly, Volume One: The Way Home and The Bittersweet Summer by Andy Runton
2. Dogs of War by Sheila Keenan

Two Realistic Fiction novels for Grades 4-6
1. Wonder by R.J. Palacio
2. Ava and Pip by Carol Weston

Three Books of Poetry or Poetry Collections17243953
1. Bananas in My Ears: A Collection of Nonsense Stories, Poems, Riddles, and Rhymes by Michael Rosen, Illustrated by Quentin Blake
2. Hi, Koo! A Year of Seasons by Jon J. Muth
3. The Poem that Will Not End : Fun With Poetic Forms and Voices by Joan Bransfield Graham, Illustrated by Krysten Brooker

Four Different Illustrated Folk or Traditional Tales
1. Peter and the Wolf by Chris Raschka13617210
2. Rapunzel  by Rachel Isadoa
3. Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs by Mo Willems
4. Chinese Fables: The Dragon Slayer and other Timeless Tales of Wisdom by Shiho S. Nunes, Illustrated by Lak-Khee Tay-Audouard

Two Fantasy/Science Fiction Novels for Grades 4-6
1. North of Nowhere by Liz Kessler
2. The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo, Illustrated  by Yoko Tanaka

Two Historical Fiction Novels for Grades 4-6
1. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne 17866844
2. What the Moon Said by Gayle Rosengren

Three Biographies (younger, middle, and older children)
1. Abraham Lincoln by Lola M. Schaefer
2. Nelson Mandela by Kadir Nelson
3. Anne Frank by Josephine Poole, Illustrated by Angela Barrett

Four Informational/Nonfiction Books (different authors, different subjects, different ages)
1. Locomotive by Brian Floca
2. Island: A Story of the Galapagos by Jason Chin????????????????????????
3. The Best Book of Ancient Greece by Belinda Weber, Illustrated by Chris Molan
4. The Elephant Scientist by Caitlin O’Connell and Donna M. Jackson, Photos by Caitlin O’Connell and Timothy Rodwell

Two Audiobooks (one picture book and one novel)
1. Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems
2. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

Three Books by African American Authors or Illustrators who have won the Coretta Scott King Award (2 picture books, 1 novel)
1. Max and the Tag-Along Moon by Floyd Cooper13639804
2. Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave by Laban Carrick Hill, Illustrated by Bryan Collier
3. One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Two Books by International Authors (1 picture, 1 novel)
1. John Jensen Feels Different by Henrik Hovland, Illustrated by Torill Kove
2. Mister Orange by Truus Matti

Three Books by Latino/Latina Authors or Illustrators that have won the Pura Belpre, Tomas Rivera, or Americas Award (2 picture, 1 novel)
1. Tomas and the Library Lady by Pat Mora, Illustrated by Raul Colon
2. Nino Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales15953630
3. The Poet Slave of Cuba by Margarita Engle, Art by Sean Qualls

Three Multicultural Books that represent other cultural groups not mentioned above (2 picture, 1 novel)
1. The Librarian of Basra: A True Story from Iraq by Jeanette Winter
2. Caribou Song by Tomson Highway, Illustrated by John Rombough
3. The Boy in the Dress by David Walliams, Illustrated by Quentin Blake

~*~*~*~6609543

This assignment allowed me to reacquaint myself with the many genres of children’s literature. It also exposed me to many new authors and cultural stories. Through this assignment, I have found a new love for multicultural literature and picture books! I am also now WAY more familiar with the many many children’s literature awards and what they are awarded for!

As a future Children’s librarian, I plan on continuing my journey into children’s literature. I want to catch up on many of the fantastic books I missed out on and keep up with the newly published books. This will become a focus on this blog, as I just LOVE children’s literature even more than I did before!

Have you read any of these books? Do any of these spark your interest? Do you have any recommendations for me? Leave me a comment and let’s discuss!

Love and Tea Lights,
Jennifer

I'd love to know your thoughts!

