Top Ten Tuesday! (72): Favorite Classics

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Favorite Classics!

So this week’s topic just brings up the age-old question: What makes a classic? I still haven’t quite figured out exactly what the definition of a classic is, but here are my favorites anyway! 😉

200px-A_wrinkle_in_time_digest_20071. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle: A children’s sci-fi classic, for sure! This is one of my favorite books of all time, with memorable characters and a great adventure! Also, Calvin was my first literary crush, for sure! 😉

2. The Stinky Cheese Man: And Other Fairly Stupid Stories by Jon Scieszka, Illustrated by Lane Smith: My favorite picture book from childhood! This has become a classic tale of fairytale retellings, complete with humor made perfectly for children! LOVE.

3. Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls: This was the first novel I completely and totally bawled over. It has a special place in my heart. Where-the-Red-Fern-Grows-9780440412670

4. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee: Because honestly, every time I have read this book I learn something new. And Atticus Finch is such a hero.

5. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley: My first dystopian novel. One that renewed my faith in required reading. One that made me think about the future of the world I live in now.

Ethan Frome6. Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton: Guys, this was the only novel I read all the way through in my HS American Literature class. I was fascinated by this dark and emotional novel. I feel like this really inspired my connecting with troubled souls through books.

7. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells: I love the scientific approach to a futuristic world. This explores different facets of humanity and societal development, and I just find it fascinating!

8. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde: Because who can resist a novel about an arrogant attractive young man? The writing style is classic and beautiful.The Picture of Dorian Gray

9. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens: The only Dickens novel I have completely finished. And I LOVE it! This novel explores identity development by looking at the past, present, and future. I just adore this novel!

Heart of Darkness10. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad: Again, another one of those novels that I have no idea why I clung on so hard to this one, but I was just fascinated by this story. Plus the fact that you could use this novel to answer any and every essay question on the AP English exam just intrigued me because of how much stuff is in this rather short novel. CRAZY!

~*~*~

I know, I know. This is a WEIRD list. But what can I say? I have eclectic tastes! What are your favorite classics? Do you love any of mine? Do you HATE any of mine? Leave me a comment and let’s chat!

Love and GIRL MEETS WORLD!,
Jennifer

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (72): Favorite Classics

  1. Lisa says:

    Ha, Girl Meets World! 🙂 I love A Wrinkle in Time and Brave New World. And I really need to re-read To Kill a Mockingbird. Great list!

  2. Genevieve says:

    This is a fabulously eclectic list and I love it! ‘The Stinky Cheese Man’ is a fabulous picture book and really invigorated the genre. I love how it plays with the fairy tales though and the readers expectations of the stories.

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I have read and loved all of these except Heart of Darkness, which I was subjected to in high school and totally disgusted by. I laughed at your comment about how you can use it to answer any question on the AP exam though! Too true.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      I don’t know why I was so fascinated with it, even when I read it in high school. I have read it again since then and liked it even more! HAH. And I swear, I totally used it on the AP exam, too 😉

  4. Jim Crigler says:

    I would swap out A Christmas Carol in favor of A Tale Of Two Cities.

    And The Lord Of The Rings should be in there someplace.

    These are the only books I return to decade after decade, by which we learn that there are advantages to being old.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      I would have put Lord of the Rings on there if I had ever managed to get through The Two Towers lol. I do like Fellowship of the Ring, though! And one day I will read A Tale of Two Cities. =)

  5. SarahO. says:

    Awesome list! I love A Christmas Carol too! It was my first Dickens book and I thought it was just a powerful story. I think Where the Red Ferns Grow was also one of the first books I bawled in. My mom read it my us when we were kids and it was just awesome!
    Here’s my TT

  6. Christina says:

    Ugh, HOW did I forget to put any Oscar Wilde on my list?! I totally agree re: Brave New World, although I have to admit, A Wrinkle in Time freaked me out when I read it as a kid! (“IT” really scared me a lot.) Also, so far you’re the only person I’ve encountered who actually likes Ethan Frome! I’ve never read it, but now maybe I will. 🙂

  7. a library mama says:

    I have “Wrinkle” on my list, too! And I considered putting “Mockingbird” on as well, but as I’m not quite done reading it for the first time and there were so many other favorite books, it didn’t quite make it. Maybe I should have “Where the Red Fern Grows” on it to – another one I read over and over as a child.

  8. anotherafterthought says:

    I don’t think there’s a true roundabout way to determine what is or will become a classic. i’m sure if you look at the best sellers way back when…all the one’s that were top sellers aren’t even considered to be that top tier in this age.

    I can only relate to BNW…but that was definitely one of the memorable classics for me as well in that subgenre!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

I'd love to know your thoughts!

