Top Ten Tuesday! (73): Blogging Confessions

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Blogging Confessions!

Everybody has secrets. These are mine! 😉

10. Sometimes, I am jealous of all of the packages bloggers get from publishers: I see the big stacks of ARCs, the instagram posts of stacks of new books, and I want that. But then again, I don’t like being told what to read, and getting those books from publishers is a lot of pressure to read them in a timely manner. So then again, maybe I don’t want that pressure.

9. I want to spend more time blogging than I actually do: I have all of these plans, all of these ideas. But then I get distracted, or busy, or tired, and my blog goes by the wayside.

8. I don’t use Netgalley anymore: I LOVE the idea of Netgalley, but I don’t have a Kindle, and it is SO difficult to get the digital copy to my tablet, and I HATE reading on my computer. So I just wait until the book is published and get it at the library.

7. I am doing GREAT if I have two posts scheduled: I am ALWAYS behind on my posts and book reviews. I want to just be able to write a review as soon as I finish a book so that I don’t forget my thoughts. But that just doesn’t happen very often.

6. I really LOVE Twitter: Seriously, I think Twitter has changed the way I read books. I can talk to people about books as I am reading them, I can chat and send shout-outs to the author telling them I LOVE their book, and I can see what other people love. TWITTER FOREVER! 😉

5. I ALWAYS re-read books in a series: This is why I don’t post as many reviews, because books in a series ALWAYS come out around the same time, and I just HAVE to reread all of the books before the newest one! ALWAYS.

4. Blogging led me to audiobooks, and I am SO INCREDIBLY THANKFUL!: Because, seriously, AUDIOBOOKS ARE THE BOMB! They are a great way to fill my driving and cleaning time and are a great way to supplement my reading!

3. Sometimes, I feel like I am writing to no one: I blog for myself, not for the followers. But at the same time, I see these blogs that started at the same time I did and they have so many followers and get so many comments. I just wonder what I am doing wrong….

2. I have NO IDEA what I would do without Goodreads: Seriously, Goodreads was one of the best discoveries for me. If only I had found it sooner–like in undergrad. But it is my saving grace, where I can keep a running list of books that I have read and books that I want to read. THANK YOU, GOODREADS! I have discovered SO MANY fantastic books because of this website. LOVE.

1. Sometimes, I read a book, and I just have nothing to say. And that makes me feel like a failure: After all, I have a book blog! Shouldn’t I be able to talk about the books I read? But sometimes, I just have nothing to say. For both FANTASTIC books as well as LESS THAN STELLAR books. And that just makes me sad, because I want to always be able to talk about books. But sometimes, I just have nothing to say.

Does anyone else do these things or feel this way? Leave a comment, let me know I am not alone! 😉

Love and Spider Man,
Jennifer

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (73): Blogging Confessions

  1. mrshbookworm says:

    I agree with so many of these points especially the last one. Sometimes I want to say something and just don’t know what I can add to it. I also find it hard to review when the book is so reliant on twists and I don’t want to let any spoilers out!

  2. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know says:

    I get jealous of those packages too, but mostly because I can’t find the contact information to hit the publishers up myself. 🙂 Sometimes RL gets in the way of blogging. And how is it that you don’t have a kindle yet? That’s a must have. Christmas or birthday wish list! You can get an older version for pretty cheap these days too. I love re-reading too, but I can’t do it every time. I don’t have enough time to get to all of the books that way. BUT I do love utilizing audiobooks for re-reads sometimes. That helps me feel like I’m multitasking at least. No idea what I’d do without Goodreads either. Great list!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  3. Raised A Reader says:

    I’m also jealous of those book bloggers who get tons of physical book copies from publishers. Like ermergersh, free books! Yes! I like NetGalley–I use it on my iPad, but sometimes I get overwhelmed by the amount of books I have in my NetGalley pile.

  4. becksawalton says:

    Nice list! and I agree with quite a few of your points.
    I’ve only just started blogging, but I’ve already been overwhelmed by netgalley. I love goodreads, and my blogging journey really started there. I’ve yet to feel ARC jealousy, but when I do… I know I’ll most likely cry. I would just have to remind myself that I get free books too. You know, from the library. 😦

  5. Monica says:

    Great post. I agree with a lot of things you have said. Like sometimes, the book is just so amazing that I don’t know what to write. I don’t want to go into the plot too much cause then i’ll ruin it for others but I want people to know how great the book was. I also love Goodreads too. I think I would forget about half the books I want to read if it weren’t for goodreads

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      YES! It’s like, how can I express to you my love for this book? I just can’t….and I don’t want to tell you what it’s about because it is better if you just read it…..and yeah. =)

  6. anotherafterthought says:

    I’ve run through some instances where I’ve been generally speechless per the book I just finished. And I’m not talking about the inability to make sense of what just happened but more so the fact that I will always reason with something along the lines of: “anything i say does not do this book justice.” I definitely do get comment-envy when I see people reading certain pages (so I know there’s presence!) but there’s never any comments left on them haha. But I guess it’s these TTT posts where I can interact with people that definitely gives me some sort of validation that I’m doing okay!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      LOL yeah, I know the feeling! And I try to formulate words for reviews, but sometimes it just comes out “OMGSH YOU NEED TO READ THIS NOW I CAN’T SAY ANYMORE BUT JUST GO READ IT!” Oh well. 😉

  7. stacybuckeye says:

    I may be tolld old or have too little time to tuly understand/aapreciate Twitter. I have an account but really only use it for important things like voting for The Voice instant save 🙂

I'd love to know your thoughts!

