Top Ten Tuesday! (76): Authors Taking Up My Shelf Space!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Ten Most Popular Authors on my Shelf!

So hubby and I made it a game to sit and stare at our shelves and shout out the authors who claimed a lot of real estate on our shelves! Here is the list we came up with, from least most popular to most most popular! πŸ˜‰

5 Books a Piece:

Dan Wells:Β  I really enjoyed the Partials series, so I own all three of those. Plus I bought Hollow City when he came to Birmingham a couple of years ago. And I have also picked up I Am Not A Serial Killer at the used bookstore but haven’t read it yet.

Jodi Picoult: I really love that she tackles such tough and taboo issues in her realistic fiction, and while most of the time I check them out from the library, I have collected a few of her books (some I have read, some I haven’t yet). Her most recent title, The Storyteller, isΒ  a beautiful beautiful story and probably my favorite book of hers to date.

Avi: The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is one my all-time favorite books. And while I was in elementary school, I read a few Avi books. I still have them, and I want to read more!

Joan Didion: I have only read Democracy by her, but I have somehow collected two other novels as well as two of her nonfiction works. I plan on reading them someday!

6 Books a Piece:

Β Dan Brown: Because my dad and I loved his books, so of course we ended up buying them all (except I don’t have the new one yet because I didn’t like it really). I have since inherited stolen them and they now live on my shelves. My favorite Dan Brown novel, if you are wondering, is Deception Point.

J.R.R. Tolkien: My husbands favorite. We are collecting all of Tolkien’s works, slowly but surely.

Walker Percy: A southern writer who makes magic with his writing. Ever since I read Love in the Ruins, I have been collecting Walker Percy books whenever I can find them.

7 Books:

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor: It’s the Alice series. I really like this series a lot. It really helped me through my rough middle school years, and reading it again as a 25 year old made me nostalgic and also understand just how important this series is for preteens. So at the library book sale, I snagged 7 of them. =)

8 Books:

Lurlene McDaniel: She was my favorite author in middle school. I used to have more, but I gave the ones that I didn’t think I’d ever read again. I did keep my favorites, including all 5 books in the Dawn Rochelle series.

9 Books:

C.S. Lewis: I have a boxed set of The Chronicles of Narnia, plus a couple of his nonfiction works.

10 Books:

David Levithan: He is the author I have been trying to collect since I read my first novel by him. I have collected 10 so far, including a signed Every Day, The Lover’s Dictionary, and the book I am currently reading, Love is the Higher Law.

14 Books a Piece:

J.K. Rowling: Because I own my reading copies of the entire Harry Potter series, as well as the beautiful special edition boxed set! =)

Elizabeth Peters: I inherited the first 14 books of the Amelia Peabody series from my Grandmother. This was one of her favorite series, and I have read the first couple. Whether or not I end up reading the whole series remains to be seen, but right now I just have to keep them regardless.

40 Books:

Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins: The Left Behind Kids. I was obsessed with this series in middle school/high school. And I still have them all.

~*~*~

So, those are the authors who are most popular on my shelves? Do we have any similar authors? Do you have a favorite you would recommend? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Love and NCIS Los Angeles,
Jennifer

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (76): Authors Taking Up My Shelf Space!

  1. Lucy says:

    I love that your husband got involved with the TTT fun!

    Levithan is quite prolific isn’t he- lucky for us! I’m collecting his books and slowly making my way through them. I think I have a couple Lurlene McDaniel review books to catch up on.

  2. Anne says:

    My daughter was obsessed with the Left Behind series for Teens, too. But I made her get them from the library so I am sure she never read all 40 of them. (Mean mom.) Did you ever red the adult books by the same authors?

  3. Cait says:

    Woah! You sure went the extra mile (or two or nine) with Jerry B Jenkin’s books, right?! I never actually got into them, but I tried reading Left Behind. I liked it well enough, but for some reason I never read the rest. OH and I have Narnia on my list! But I forgot I owned his sci-fi trilogy as well. Oops. And I’m pretty sure my mum has a few of his non-fiction books lying around too. πŸ˜‰ Here’s my TTT!

  4. Enbrethiliel says:

    +JMJ+

    I only have one Amelia Peabody book (which I bought myself), but if I had inherited a whole bunch, I’m sure I would have read them all by now. The first was so much fun, although Mysteries aren’t really my thing. =)

    Then again, that’s easy enough to say, aye? A friend gave me the first dozen books in J.D. Robb’s In Death series and I got through about five before screeching to a halt. LOL!

  5. bookmammal says:

    This was such a fun prompt this week! Jodi Picoult made my top 10–and I haven’t thought about Walker Percy in ages! I have a couple of his books but it’s been a long time since I read any of his work.

  6. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know says:

    40 books! Sheesh! Dan Wells is great. I still haven’t picked up Ruins yet. I guess technically I own JRR Tolkein and CS Lewis too but I wasn’t thinking about owning them since they’re Husband’s copies. And I didn’t even think about Lurlene McDaniel either. Oh man! I don’t even know how many of her books I own. Enough for her to have made my list though. Nice list!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

I'd love to know your thoughts!

