Top Ten Tuesday! (77): Want to Start Listening To Audiobooks? Try These!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Ten Books I’d Give to Readers Who Want to Start Listening to Audiobooks!

I will just say this: when I discovered audiobooks, my life changed completely! As a car reader, I hated having to do things like drive because I couldn’t read! But then I checked out my first audiobook……and I fell in love! What a way to continue to read while I drove myself places! And they are more entertaining than the radio (most of the time)! They are a great way to supplement my reading by listening to books I probably wouldn’t have time to read otherwise (like Stephen King or Game of Thrones). Also, they allow you to multitask when you are cleaning or working out as well.

I could go on and on about how awesome audiobooks are, but instead I will just suggest to you 10 fantastic audiobooks/series on audio if you want to get started!

Middle Grade

12384984Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Patterson/Read by Robert Sean Leonard: A classic children’s book, and a fantastic Bridge to Terabithianarrative performance. Listening to this story invokes all the emotions of this story. (Read a snippet review here)

See You At Harrys by Jo Knowles/Read by Kate Rudd: Guys, this story is beautiful and emotional and inspiring and heartbreaking and hopeful–everything you want in a great story. And Kate Rudd’s performance is seriously top notch! (Read a snippet review here)

YA

49750An Abundance of Katherines by John Green/Read by Jeff Woodman: Fantastically hilarious! I didn’t really know what I was getting into with this story, and Jeff Woodman surprised me with his voices and his narrative style, keeping the characters quirky and humorous.  (Read a snippet review here) Amy and Roger's Epic Detour

Amy and Rogers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson/Read by Suzy Jackson: Emotional and swoonworthy, Suzy Jackson narrates this fantastic novel with a sincerity and a clarity of voice.  Such a great contemporary roadtrip listen!  (Read a snippet review here)

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card/Read by Stefan Rudnicki, Harlan Ellison, & Gabrielle de Cuir: Orson Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet, #1)Scott Card wrote this book with the intention of it being read aloud. And by golly, this is such a fantastic book to listen to! There is a cast of readers to help really  make this story come alive, and boy do they bring life to this text.   (Read a snippet review here)

Adult

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion/Read by Dan O’Grady: My favorite audiobook of the year! This story is quirky and hilarious and real, and Dan O’Grady perfectly embodies the character of Don Tillman. Such a joy to listen to! (For more, see my review here)Joyland

Joyland by Stephen King/Read by Michael Kelly: I know that sometimes people see Stephen King and may assume something about the story, but this story is SO different from typical horror-writer King. This is a coming of age/character-driven story, and Michael Kelly embodies Devin Jones so beautifully. It is truly a fantastic listen!  (Read a snippet review here)

Memoirs

Dad Is FatDad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan/Read by Jim Gaffigan: This audio is stinkin’ hilarious! Because Jim Gaffigan reads it himself! If you haven’t heard his comedy sketches before, Youtube him, because he is HILARIOUS! And his memoir is just full of the same comedic style, and I loved listening to it! (For more, see my review here)

This is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett/Read by Ann Patchett: Ann Patchett’s new memoir is all 17349222about life, marriage, writing, family, dogs, and friendship. It is a collection of essays that Patchett has written over the years, and they are all fantastic. And the fact that Ann Patchett reads them is such a treat to listen to. And, if you have any desire to potentially start writing, listen to this book. It’s inspiring. (You can read my snippet review here)

Series

13580951Gallagher Girls Series by Ally Carter/Read by Renée Raudman: This is such a fun series on audio! Renee brings excitement and joy to this spy story, and I seriously enjoyed every second of listening to it! A GREAT series to listen to on audio, for sure! (See my review of the first book here)

A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin/Read by Roy Dotrice: If you have any interest in reading this A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)series but don’t want to devote your reading time to these chunky books, PICK UP THE AUDIOS! That is what I did, and I LOVE them! Roy Dotrice has won the award for most unique voices in an audio performance. Each and every character has a unique voice (which is saying a lot, as there are 5 million characters in this series!!). Yes, they are really long (26-32 hours a piece), but they are a great way to experience these texts!

Harry Potter seriesHarry Potter Boxset (Harry Potter, #1-7) by J.K. Rowling/Read by Jim Dale: Even if you have read the books 1000 times a piece like I have, I would STILL recommend listening to this series on audio. For me, listening to them was almost like reading them for the first time again. Jim Dale is SUCH a fantastic narrator, and he gives a new and different life to the text. Listen to them. They are awesome!

~*~*~*~

So, I think this is a great starter list for anyone who wants to try an audiobook or 12. Have you listened to any of these? Did you like them, too? What would you recommend on audio? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Love and Buttons,
Jennifer

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (77): Want to Start Listening To Audiobooks? Try These!

  1. M | BACKLIST BOOKS says:

    Great twist on the topic! I have trouble with audiobooks as without the physical engagement of reading, I have a tendency to let my mind drift off and miss things. But I keep thinking I really need to learn how to listen to them as it’s great for travel and the gym. I have listened to the Harry Potter books in the past though – but I favoured the ones read by Stephen Fry who I think did an amazing job! But then again, I’m a Fry fan to begin with!

  2. mrshbookworm says:

    Fantastic list! I have only recently started using audio books but already think they are a great way to ‘read’ and get other things done!!! I’ll check out these books!

  3. Jess Gofton says:

    What a great list! 🙂 I read The Rosie Project earlier this year and I can image it’s an amazing audiobook. 😀 I may try listening to the Song of Ice and Fire audiobooks at some point, too – I’d love to see how the narrator has tackled all those voices.

  4. April @ The Steadfast Reader says:

    Neat idea! Audio takes books to another level – and you must must must consider narration which can make or break an otherwise fantastic book.

    I’ve not listened to it – but I’ve heard that the narration for the Harry Potter books is AMAZING.

  5. Maureen Eichner says:

    Neat list! I’ve just started listening to audiobooks more, and I’m always looking for good ones. I love the audiobooks for Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire. The narrators are fantastic, and I found all new ways to cry. (Which I didn’t think was possible.)

  6. Caught Read Handed says:

    Thank you for this list! I just started getting into audiobooks (my new car doesn’t have an auxiliary jack, so I’m listening to audiobooks on CD) and I’ve been needing more to check out!
    My first one was The Dead Father’s Club by Matt Haig. You might like it. I was laughing out loud while driving down the street. It’s a really good book and the reader is amazing. 🙂
    My TTT is on dystopian fiction.

  7. bookmarklit says:

    Thank you for this list! I LOVE the idea of audiobooks and listen to them from time to time, but I struggle with the narrators most of the time. For some reason, it impacts my perception of the book. I’m working to separate that voice from the story itself because I love listening to a book instead of the radio.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      With audiobooks, you have to find a narrator that becomes the character so perfectly! I have listened to an audio series where the narrator annoyed me, and it ruined my experience with the story. The narrators that I have mentioned above are ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! They transform into the characters and perform them with such purity!

  8. Bonnie (@missbonnie13) says:

    I listened to Bridge to Terabithia and I agree, it was a fantastic performance. So sad though. Jim Dale narrates everything perfectly and I loved loved loved his narration of the Harry Potter series. I love audiobooks and this post definitely gave me some future options. Thanks for the great post!

  9. amyo3119 says:

    Awesome idea. I just love audiobooks for long car trips. I always really enjoy them, but never listen them to on a regular basis. My work commute is a few minutes. That is good and bad! I need to figure out a way to fit audiobooks into my reading habits.

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      I have actually taken to listening to audiobooks in the car, while I’m cleaning, when I work out, and even when I’m showering/getting ready for the day. I was surprised at how much I could listen throughout the day!

  10. anotherafterthought says:

    Kudos to you for being able to listen to audiobooks. I seem to fall flat every time I try while multitasking on something else. And it seems as though you’ve found some favourites in audio-readers as well. and it’s also kind of neat that the some authors have read their own writing…a true story-time if I’ve ever heard of one!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • alibrarianslibrary says:

      Oh my goodness I LOVE when I find an author that reads his or her own work, especially memoirs! But I also recently listened to a middle grade fiction book that the author read himself, and it was BRILLIANT! They just add so much depth to the words.

  11. Lucy says:

    Yay I love that you chose audiobooks for your topic! So many good ones on your list. Amy & Roger is a favorite read of mine so I’ll have to re-read via audio. Thanks for the recs!

  12. stacybuckeye says:

    I love listening to audio books in the car too! I listened to Ender’s Game years ago. The one I often recommend is The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexie. He reads it himself and HE IS Junior. Don’t miss it 🙂

I'd love to know your thoughts!

