Real-life Stories are Hard To Review

confessions

I am a mood reader.

I have to be in the mood for a certain type of book. And then I just have to have ALL of those books. Sometimes it is cutesy middle grade. Sometimes it is psychological thrillers. Sometimes it is adventurous post-apocolyptic.

Right now, it is real life stories.

I have been reading a lot of realistic contemporary. And a lot of memoirs. And I just can’t get enough of them right now.

I am reading them so quickly, as quickly as I can get a hold of them.

Over the last few weeks, I have devoured some books. I think I have read like 10 or so. And they have all been powerful and emotional and just so good. It’s the first time in a while that I have really enjoyed so many books in a row. I have been sharing my love of these stories with many people.

But, I find myself not being able to write reviews for these books.

I don’t know if it is because the stories I have been reading are so real, but I am really just having a hard time wrapping my mind around these stories enough to review them.

Which is why the next few book posts I do may end up being more of a discussion and less of a review.

Because these stories have hit me in ways that I just don’t think I can review. So I am going to step out of the “book review” mentality and into the “book talk” mentality. I hope that this mental switch will help me to write about these stories and share them with you!

Because I do want to share these seriously great stories with you all. I hope to do that over the coming weeks.

Until then, Love and Toothless (The best dragon ever!),
Jennifer

 

4 thoughts on “Real-life Stories are Hard To Review

  1. becksawalton says:

    This post has helped me work out why my memoir review I wrote yesterday was like pulling teeth – its someone’s real life. I ended up just discussing the book, what I liked about it and why I think it was important (it discusses PTSD as a main theme). Goodluck with writing about the books you have read, was there a favourite one?

  2. Stephanie says:

    Talking about the books rather than reviewing them is a pretty brilliant idea! And this is a pretty great teaser post – I am now very excited to hear about what you’ve been reading!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

