Mini Book Review: Breathe, Annie, Breathe

16045306

Title/Author: Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally
(Hundred Oaks #5)

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Sports, Grief

Published: July 15th, 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire

Hardcover, 311 pages

How I Got This Book: Checked it out from the library

Why I Picked It Up?: When I found out that this was a running book, I knew I wanted to read it. I have been obsessed with running books, and I wanted to read a novel centered around running and training. Yay!

Book Jacket Blurb: “Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.”

Thoughts:

I am calling this a “mini review” because this review will be quick, as I have waited too long to write this review to be able to fully recall everything I thought and felt as I read it. And I haven’t started a book journal like Ashley @ FLP yet, so I don’t have anything to go by other than my good memories when I think about this book. But I didn’t feel that this book deserved to be clumped into a Mini Reviews post, so I have separated it.

I fell in love with this book. Hard.

It is one of those books that has stuck with me, even though I have read quite a few books since then.

I loved going on Annie’s journey with her. It is a physical journey of training to run a marathon. It is an emotional journey at learning to deal with her grief and guilt of the loss of Kyle. It is a mental journey as she learns to keep going, both in training and in life. It is a romantic journey that starts with friendship.

I loved the story progression and how Miranda Kenneally decided to tell it. I thought it was a perfect example of realistic contemporary storytelling at its finest.

I loved Jeremiah. He is totally swoon-worthy.  He is flawed, but he is so sweet and kind and patient and funny and honest and real. And I find that so incredibly swoon-worthy.

This book is the 5th in a collection series. You can totally read this as a standalone. I did. And I loved it. So much. This book may be one of my favorite reads of the year. It is engaging and encouraging, and I love it.

That is all.

My Bookshelf Rating:

A5shelf Top Shelf Book!

Maybe this was just a “right book at the right time” moment, but I immediately fell in love with this book. And when I reread it someday, I will make sure to write a real review about it. Until then, just take my “I just loved this book” sigh as a reason why you readers who love realistic contemporary reads should read this.

(And while this is part of a series, you can totally read this as a stand alone. I did!)

Love and bowling balls,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Mini Book Review: Breathe, Annie, Breathe

  1. ccplteenunderground says:

    Thanks for the great review! I’ve definitely read some good things about this books, but this is the first review that really makes me want to read it!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

