Top Ten Tuesday! (82): Books I Need to Reread Soon!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Books I Want To Reread Soon!

I LOVE rereading! I am a perpetual rereader–always have been, always will be. I love immersing myself in stories that I love again and again. So this is such a great topic for me! Without further ado….

The “YAY! A New Book in This Series Came Out So I Need To Re-read All the Books Before It” Rereads!

Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara DyerMy Top Ten Books reviewed of 201215749186

The Mara Dyer SeriesΒ by Michelle Hodkin: I have been waiting until close to release date to reread Unbecoming and Evolution, and I FINALLY started Sunday! I am loving revisiting this story, with these characters, and this supernatural mystery, and I cannot WAIT until I get my hands on Book Three tomorrow! SQUEEEEE!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor: I read the first one the month it came out, and then I anxiously waited for books 2 and 3 to come out so I could just read them straight through because I loved them so much! But then it came out in the spring, and I haven’t picked it up yet! But I WILL SOON! πŸ™‚

To All The Boys I’ve Love Before by Jenny Han: I know this one is a few months from the second book being published, but I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to rereading this one again. I am having to restrain myself! πŸ˜‰

The “I Loved This Book So Much the First Time that I Need to Reread It Again!” Rereads!

My Top Ten Books reviewed of 2012My Month in Review: January 2013Top Ten Tuesday! (23)

Every Day by David Levithan: THIS BOOK. IS. AMAZING. And I need to experience it again!

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley: There is something so poignant about this book. I connected with it so much the first time I read it, and I feel myself being drawn to it again.

Love in the Ruins by Walker Percy: This is a book that I first read in a seminar class in undergraduate, and it is the one that stuck with me the most. I feel that I want to revisit this to see why it stuck with me so much.

Follow Friday! (9)16068905

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: Such a beautiful fantasy story. And I want to revisit this one again, next time on audio. Because JIM DALE!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: This is the book I started at 11pm before bed and finished at 5am when my husband was getting ready for work. I fell in love so quickly that the next time I want to take my time and really savor the story.

The “I Have Read This So Many Times But It’s Been At Least A Year Since My Last Reread” Rereads!

geisha Where-the-Red-Fern-Grows-9780440412670 kite-runner-book-jacket

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golding: I actually read this book after I saw the film for the first time in high school. And then, 6 months later, I read it again. This story is just so beautiful and poignant, and it transports me into another world. And I love that. And I have been looking at it on my shelf for the past few months just itching to reread it. Soon, my beautiful book, very soon!

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls: I first read this book when I ran out of books on my spring break trip in 6th grade. I borrowed a book from my mother’s friend, and I took home a great treasure that week. That story was the first story that I felt an emotional connection to, and that is the story that taught me that books (and fictional stories) can mean more than just the words on a page to me. And I just LOVE this book so much that I reread it frequently.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini: I read this for the first time the summer before my senior year in high school. And I fell in love with this beautiful story of redemption and truth and searching and…..sigh. It has been a couple of years (maybe as many as ! GASP!) since I have picked this book up. I will probably revisit this one again soon.

Bonus: The Books I am Hesitant to Reread.

99561A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

Looking for Alaska by John Green: Why? Because this book is one that has changed my life and affected me in ways that few books have. And I don’t want to lose that feeling by rereading it. But then again, I reread everything I love. And every time, I learn else about myself through that experience.

The Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R. R. Martin: Why? Because they are SO LONG! I think this may be the first series that I really really enjoy that I won’t actually pick up again. I think one time is enough…..for at least the next 25 years. πŸ˜‰

~*~*~

Needless to say, I LOVE rereading books. So much. What are the books that you just LOVE to reread? Leave me a comment and tell me!

Love and Big Ring Lifesavers Gummies,
Jennifer

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (82): Books I Need to Reread Soon!

  1. jerikavonalexandra says:

    I love rereading too! I think how you react to a book depends on who you are at the moment. In high school, I just didn’t get Pride and Prejudice. When I read it again when I started working, I felt differently towards it and appreciated it more.

    Anyway … back to your list. Haha. I have read Every Day, Kite Runner and Night at the Circus – all of which I liked. Kite Runner stands out for tugging at the heart.

    I have read A Game of Thrones more than once and I love it each time – the entire series actually. I really like the way George R. R, Martin writes too. πŸ™‚

  2. pagesandtea says:

    This is a really good list πŸ™‚ I’ve only read the first DOSAB book, and it was so long ago that I’ve definitely have to reread it before I carried on and read the rest of the series, which I really want to do.

    Fangirl and The Night Circus are books I would definitely reread because they were both wonderful for completely different reasons.

    As for ASOIAF, I would love to reread, but you’re right, they’re SO long!!

  3. Cassie says:

    Great list! I really need to read the Mara Dyer trilogy. I’ve heard great things about it. I also own the first book of DOSAB, but still haven’t read it. Someday, right?

  4. Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life says:

    Ahh, it looks like we need to read several of the same books! I read Mara Dyer, and thought the first book was good, but I held off on reading the second before the last one came out! Now that it’s published though, I’m going to be picking up the rest of the series to see how things end up. The premise is so interesting!!

    I haven’t read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, but it seems ah-mazing, so I really need to get around to it! I think it’s going to be the perfect contemporary read for me!

    It’s been a while since I read Every Day, but it was such a gorgeous and unexpectedly amazing book for me. I think that’ll be one I need to revisit again.

    Also, I read the Kite Runner last year for school, and was totally blown away! I just recently read the companion, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and totally loved it as well.

    Your point on re-reading books helping you learn about yourself more is SO SPOT ON. I just re-read the first two books of perhaps one of my favorite series of all time (the third just came out!), and I feel like I learned so much, and I’ll definitely learn more when I finish the third and have to say goodbye to the characters. Beautifully said. <33

    Lovely post, Jennifer! I hope you can get around to all of these soon!!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

