Top Ten Tuesday! (84): Top Ten New Authors 2014!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme create at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors in 2014!

I always love discovering new authors! I love being surprised by a new style of story-telling. This are my top new authors of 2014!

1. Graeme Simsion
What I Read: The Rosie Project
Why he’s fantastic: He writes in a realistic and humorous way that allows the reader to immediately connect with the characters.
What I Will Read Listen to Next: The Rosie Effect

2. Gabrielle Zevin
What I Read: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry
Why she’s fantastic: This wrote this BEAUTIFUL story full of ALL THE FEELS! LOVED this book.
What I Will Read Next: All These Things I’ve Done

3. Rachael Allen
What I Read: 17 First Kisses
Why she’s fantastic: She tells a very authentic story in a way that invites the reader into the story.
What I Will Read Next: The Revenge Notebook

4. E. Lockhart
What I Read: We Were Liars
Why she’s fantastic: She uses beautiful prose to create a story I will never forget.
What I Will Read Next: The Boyfriend List

5. Tim Federle
What I Read: Better Nate than Ever
Why he’s fantastic: He has created a character that is charming, memorable, and 100% worthy of having a sequel!
What I Will Read Next: Five Six Seven Nate

6. Brandy Colbert
What I Read: Pointe
Why she’s fantastic: Guys, this book is just fantastic. It is everything you want out of a good story. Completely mind-blowing!
What I Will Read Next: Whatever she writes next!

7. Kristin Clark
What I Read: Freakboy
Why she’s fantastic: This novel in verse really explores characters that don’t exist often enough in YA lit, and she does it in such a beautiful way.
What I Will Read Next: Whatever she writes next!

8. Sherman Alexie
What I Read: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Why he’s fantastic: This is such an authentic story, told in a brilliant teenage boy voice, complete with cartoons. This is the total package!
What I Will Read Next: War Dances

9. Liz Prince
What I Read: Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir
Why she’s fantastic: Words cannot express her storytelling abilities. And her illustrations are AWESOME! She is just so talented!
What I Will Read Next: Will You Still Love Me If I Wet The Bed?

10. Jenny Lawson
What I Read: Let’s Pretend this Never Happened
Why she’s fantastic: Simply put, she’s freakin’ HILARIOUS! And she’s just a normal gal! Listen to this book! It’s awesome!
What I Will Read Next: Furiously Happy

 

 So those are my favorite new authors of the year! What are some of yours? Leave me a comment, let me know!

Love and Winter Break!,
Jennifer

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (84): Top Ten New Authors 2014!

  1. Vanessa says:

    You should also read Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin, it’s amazing (I actually liked it way more than All These Things I’ve Done, but that’s just me!). 🙂

  2. ccplteenunderground says:

    I also read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, We Were Liars, and Pointe this year… and all of them were fabulous!

  3. Sarah B says:

    I also read and loved The Rosie Project this year 😀 and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian sounds great – I hope to read it soon! I’ll check out some of the authors that I haven’t heard of!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

