2014 Best Genre-Fiction Reads

So, what did I notice about my genre reads for this year?

There weren’t that many!

The fun thing about doing a Year in Review feature is that you really get to analyze your reading habits for the last year (I will be posting my 2014 reading statistics post a little later this week!). When I was going back through my read for this year to make this post, I noticed that I really didn’t read too many new genre-fiction books this year! Which just goes to show you how much of a mood-reader/topic reader I am. Apparently, my reading habits have changed drastically. I used to read SO MUCH Genre-Fiction. This year, my list is PADDED with realistic reads.

That being said, I still read some really great genre-fiction reads! And I would like to share some of my favorites with you! So here we go!

Best in Fantasy!

13085374Infinite by Jodi Meadows
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: An overall exciting and powerful ending to a great fantasy trilogy. While some aspects of this story were hard for me to believe and fully support, my love for this world, the characters, the romance, and the storytelling is full-force. This is such a great and unique world, and I do love it!

~*~*~

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare 8755785

My Snippet Review: I never got around to writing a real review for this book. Sometimes you just have too many feels to put into words. This is one of those books for me. I thought that this finale perfectly ended this generation of Shadow Hunters while still working the Cassandra Clare magic. I will leave you with a couple of quotes:

“Everyone has the potential to be extraordinary. As long as you have a soul and free will, you can be anything, do anything, choose anything.”

“Ghosts are memories, and we carry them because those we love do not leave the world.”

~*~*~

2213661The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

My Snippet Review: For me, this book actually read more like a collection of short stories rather than a novel. But that’s not a bad thing. Gaiman creates such a magical world in the graveyard, filled with enchantment, adventure, curiosity, and love. Such an understated story that just keeps you entranced with wonder. This is such a unique coming-of-age story, and the illustrations add even more depth to this magical book. If you haven’t read it yet, you should.

Best in Science Fiction!

Ruins by Dan Wells 17607716

My Snippet Review: This started out as my favorite YA dystopia series. While I found the ending to this trilogy to be a little too “tie a pretty bow on the gift to wrap it up” wrapped up, I still loved the development of this post-apocalyptic world. In this third book, some of the minor characters begin to stand on their own (and kick some major butt!), and I loved seeing them develop! Also, there is quite a lot of butt-kicking! If you haven’t read this series yet, I definitely recommend it for sure!

~*~*~

15844362The One by Kiera Cass
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: I was pleasantly surprised with how this series wrapped up! This book continues to dig into each character, and we are able to see them come into their own. This final book becomes more than just a fluffy Bachelor-esque game–it allows our characters to step up as leaders, as soldiers, as heroes…all while still making you giggle with glee!

~*~*~

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel 20170404

My Snippet Review: I just finished this book on Christmas Day. I took my sweet time reading it because every chapter was so entrancing and beautiful. This is a literary post-apocalyptic story that interweaves flashbacks, telling the stories of the past along with the story of the present. Mandel’s beautiful story-telling is reason enough for you to go and pick up this book pronto! You won’t regret it!

Best in Mystery/Thriller!

9736930Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

My Snippet Review: A GREAT thrilling story. I was completely intrigued from beginning to end! I loved learning more about Christine as she did! The structure of this novel is PERFECT! A definite read for anyone who loves psychological thrillers! I cannot wait to watch the movie and see how this translates to the screen!

~*~*~

One Kick by Chelsea Cain18774963
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: A new series by Chelsea Cain, and another fantastically satisfying beginning to a mystery/thriller series. This story is a little more main-stream crime involving kidnapping, but the uniqueness of the story comes from the uniqueness of Kick as a protagonist. Her past puts her directly involved with this case, and her character development really propels this story forward in an exciting and intriguing way. I am very interested to see where this story goes next!  Just one more year! *sigh*

Best in Historical Fiction!

200px-The_Secret_Life_of_BeesThe Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

My Snippet Review: Full disclosure: this was definitely a reread. I have read this book multiple times, but I hadn’t picked it up in a few years. I picked it up again at the end of the summer and fell back in love with it all over again. One of my favorite books of all time. This book is beautiful. Truly and purely beautiful. I loved being able to revisit it. This time, it meant something different. And even more powerful. Each time I read it, I get something new from it. And it is beautiful.

~*~*~

Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan5982447

My Snippet Review: The voices in this book sound so familiar. I think that David Levithan does a perfect job of capturing the confusion, the emptiness, the fear, and the “why” emotions that surrounded this day. A short novel, but not a quick read by any means. There is a lot of depth of emotion in this story, making it a great novel about a very scary time.

~*~*~

18222767A Death-Struck Year by Makiia Lucier

My Snippet Review: I love viruses! Most of the books about viruses are science fiction, end of the world type stories. This book was a real opportunity for me to read a historical fiction book about a real pandemic, and that was an absolutely fascinating experience! Each of the characters in this novel are brave and strong, and I know that these fictional characters represent the brave Red Cross volunteers that helped out when this tragedy struck. I really enjoyed the historical elements of this kind of story! I hope to find more like it!

~*~*~

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia13639804

My Snippet Review: A historical novel about a period of history I know very little about (The Black Panther Movement), I was immediately drawn into this story. Delphine has such a unique and relatable voice, and she tells her story in a way that any reader can connect with. While this story is about a moment in history, it is also about family dynamics, identity, and sibling relationships. This book is deserving of the MANY awards it has received for the intricate story that Rita Williams-Garcia tells.

Best Hybrid Genre Books!

9673436The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: With undertones of magic and intrigue, this Caldecott winner earns its medal through the integrated use of vivid imagery to tell a wonderful story of determination and hope. I love the integration of pictures. Hugo is a brave boy who only wants to connect with his father again, and that goal takes him on a journey to find a new place to belong. I also love the integration of film history! Such a lovely story.

~*~*~

So, those are some of my favorite genre-reads from this year! Have you read any of these? Do you have any favorites that you would recommend? Let’s talk in the comments! 🙂

And come back later today for my Best Realistic Reads of 2014!

Love and Werthers,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “2014 Best Genre-Fiction Reads

I'd love to know your thoughts!

