2014 Best Audio Listens!

Audiobooks…what would I do without them? They allow me to get to many more stories than I would be able to because I can listen to them, while driving, while cleaning the apartment, while showering and getting ready. Audiobooks are great for that!

What makes a great audio? Having a fantastic reader who can engage a listener into the story audibly. Someone who can add the emotions needed to tell the story authentically. All of the books below fall into this category, and they are my favorite listens of the year!

~*~*~

Untitled-1Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: Lauren Morrill has charmed me with a “Parent Trap” type story with a bit more depth to it. You really get to know both Sloane Emily and Sloane Devan, and I really liked that. Also, the audio is performed by TWO readers, so their voices are distinct. This was just a wonderful, feel-good read. Lauren Morrill is on my auto-listen list, for sure! =)

If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan 17302571
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: Wow, what an emotional and eye-opening story. I am completely overwhelmed by this cultural story. This book is about a personal journey to try to figure out your place in a society that will kill you for who you are and who you love. And the audio book was brilliant. Negin Farsad’s performance reflects the emotion in the story perfectly. I do think that this book is a better listen than a read, because the prose is told as if a character were talking to you rather than a written story, so the writing may be a little weird to actually read. But the audio was a great listen!

17349222This Is The Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett

My Snippet Review: FANTASTIC. Inspiring. Wonderful. And listening to Ann Patchett read it is just LOVELY. A great listen about life, love, writing, friendship, loyalty, and bookstores. There is really not much else to say. If you enjoy memoirs, and if you enjoy memoirs about writing and books and stories and life, then I would definitely recommend either reading this one or listening to it!

Charlie and the Ccharliehocolate Factory by Roald Dahl 

My Snippet Review: This was an AMAZING listen. I listened to the newly re-read version, and it was fantastic! Complete with music and sound effects and an enthusiastic narrator that made this story come alive! This was my first time reading/listening to this story, and I enjoyed every second of it!

13580951United We Spy by Ally Carter

My Snippet Review:  A solid conclusion to an exciting series! Liz finally gets to join in the adventuring! Lots of rescue missions, death threats, and Cammie and Zach moments! And honestly, the ending to this series really just leaves me wanting her to write an “all grown up” series! Please, Ally Carter! If you are looking for a great series to listen to on audio, listen to these! They are exciting and thrilling, and Renee Raudman makes each of the characters come to life through her FANTASTIC narration!

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion16181775
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: If you are looking for a quirky story that makes you giggle and smile from beginning to end, I cannot recommend this book to you enough! Don Tillman is such a unique character, and I loved Every. Single. Minute of his story! Dan O’Grady’s narration performance is absolutely BRILLIANT! I was with Don for every step of this crazy and quirky journey for him to find the perfect partner and cheered for him as he learned to let go and live. Truly a fantastic listening experience, for sure!

13414183Better Nate than Ever by Tim Federle
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: This book is so adorable! A great story and a great audio listen! I really enjoyed Nate’s character a lot–he is quirky and adorable and not afraid of who he is. What a great role model for kids of all ages! Also, hearing Tim Federle read his own book is an experience that no other narrator could have replicated. He adds so much extra depth and nuance to this story that just makes Nate come alive in a way that I don’t know could have happened any other way for me.

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern18635084
(Link to my review)

My Snippet Review: The audio is brilliant for this book. The additions of the robotic speech of Amy’s Pathway really conveys the true tone of the conversations between Amy and Matthew. This is a story of individual struggles, of friendship struggles, of relational struggles, of learning to be a better person from the people around you. I was quite surprised by how much I enjoyed this audio book.

15745753Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

My Snippet Review: This is one of those books that I just can’t find the words with which to write a review. Listening to the audio this year was my second time experiencing this story. This story is beautiful and fantastic. The audio is FANTASTIC. If you haven’t read it yet, go read it! If you have, GO LISTEN TO IT! 🙂

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawsonlet's pretend

My Snippet Review: HILARIOUS! Listened to this for my book club, and it was such a great listen! Jenny Lawson narrates this audiobook, and it is 8 hours of pure laugh-out-loud entertainment! I really liked how this is a memoir about a regular lady who has lived a really unusual life filled with taxidermy animals and post-it note arguments. And every single second is just HILARIOUS. Listen to this. It is very inspiring!

carrieCarrie by Stephen King

My Snippet Review: Read by Carrie herself, Sissy Spacek, Carrie is everything I always thought it would be: thrilling, a little bit terrifying, and a lot of crazy crap! But I was not expecting to have such an emotional reaction to this book. Carrie’s mother is SO HORRIBLE, and I just felt so bad for her. I really liked how Sissy read the story–I was really intrigued for every single second. A very solid audiobook, and a really great Stephen King story!

Noggin by John Corey Whaley18051349

My Snippet Review: A literary science fiction story that will make you reflect upon how your life would be different, JCW once again intrigues and engages his readers in a very thought-provoking story of how science can change life. Kirby Heyborne captures Travis’s emotions perfectly as he tries to deal with his present being his family and friends’ futures.

~*~*~

If you have not ever listened to an audiobook, I cannot recommend them enough. They are life-changing (for your reading life, anyway 😉 ). Any of the books listed above are a great starting point for delving into the world of audiobooks.

Love and Earrings,
Jennifer

 

8 thoughts on “2014 Best Audio Listens!

  1. Molly Wetta says:

    Of all of these, I’ve only listened to Noggin! Will have to check out a couple more. My favorite audiobooks of the year (besides Noggin) were The Winner’s Curse, The Lost Sun, and The Raven Boys series.

  2. mrshbookworm says:

    I’ve only recently realised how useful and entertaining that audiobooks can be. I’ve not listened to any of the above but will be checking them out. I enjoyed audiobooks of Horns, Tales of the City and the BBC Radio Drama of Neverwhere.

  3. Akilah says:

    I have no doubt that Charlie & the Chocolate Factory is delightful on audiobook. I really need to get on that. I loved the Matilda audiobook, which is also a lot of fun.

  4. Stephanie@Don't be Afraid of the Dork says:

    I totally and whole-heartedly support your message here. Audio books ave definitely changed my reading life and made it possible for me to read so much more. Plus sometimes I even want to do chores so I can get back to a good book:) So thanks for these recommendations – Ann Patchett’s and the Bloggess’ books in particular are both on my TBR so will check them out in Audio.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

