Most Disappointing of 2014

I have spent the last few days focusing on the GREATS and FANTASTICS of 2014. But now is the time to focus on the not so great for just a minute. I don’t want to harp on negativity for too long, but I do believe in acknowledging my disappointments. So here goes nothing.

The “Not What I Expected”s

RevivalOf Monsters and Madness (Of Monsters and Madness, #1)Go Ask Alice18607160

Revival by Stephen King: This isn’t a bad story. I was just really hoping for horror with this book. But it wasn’t all that horror-y to me. It was a interesting story, but not one I would want to read again. (I will say, David Morse is a great narrator. So props to him! I would definitely listen to another book read by Morse!)

Of Monsters and Madness by Jessica Verday: Honestly, I don’t really know why I finished this. I guess I just really wanted to see how it ended. But it wasn’t worth it. The plot started out intriguing enough, but the characters were flat and rather boring and forgettable. And then it didn’t even end! I thought it was a standalone, but it’s not. It’s an open-ending for a sequel. No thanks!

Go Ask Alice by Anonymous: I probably should have expected it, but I found this book to be dated. It is an old book (1970s), but I feel like Crank is a more accessible story to today’s readers than this one. It’s not horrible, it’s just really historical now. Most teen readers won’t get any of the references.

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Ann Peters: This book went in a completely different direction than I expected it to go when I picked it up, and I think that dampened my enjoyment of this novel. I really thought it was going to be more psychological thriller, and it turned out to be a dark contemporary romance story.  The set up for this novel really mislead me, and that ended up disappointing me the most. The characters are okay, nothing memorable though. Overall, it was just a meehhh book.

The “I Got Bored”s

8908Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"

World War Z by Max Brooks: On the one hand, I really enjoyed the journalistic approach to this story. On the other hand, I really had no burning desire to continue listening once I got home, which is why it took me two months to listen to. I just wasn’t intrigued enough.
(For a fuller review, see my Goodreads write up.)

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham: Just finished this yesterday. Really enjoyed the first two sections (Love & Sex and Body). But after those first 112 pages, the essays turned boring, choppy, and exaggerated. I don’t know why I bothered to finish it, honestly.

The “I’m Unsure”

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin: 15768409
This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2014, and when I finished it I had NO IDEA what I really thought about it. And now, a month later, I STILL HAVE NO IDEA. And that’s why this made this list, because I wanted to LOVE IT. This is the book I didn’t even rate on Goodreads. I just honestly don’t know what I think about it, and that’s strange for me. I don’t even know if I am disappointed!

The “Just Plain Bad”s

Odd, Weird & Little17586459

Odd, Weird, and Little by Patrick Jennings: This book was weird. Both the story being told and the way that Patrick Jennings tells it. The use of ellipses is so frequent that it is annoying–it really gets in the way of reading the book. Also…..yeah. This book is really strange. It starts out like a “new kid at school” story, but it morphs into something else entirely. Just not for me.

#16ThingsIthoughtWereTrue by Janet Gurtler: I was really enjoying this book. I really liked the social media aspects, as that is a major part of teenage life now. But as the story developed it was just a hodgepodge of HUGE things thrown into the story at the last minute that just left me feeling disappointed. This book had so much potential but.. yeah.
(That being said, I could see many teens relating to many things in this story, so it will still go in my reader’s advisory arsenal. This was just bad to me. I don’t forsee it being bad for every other reader though).

Most Disappointing Movie

American Hustle (2013) PosterAmerican Hustle: This was THE BIG MOVIE, and really I found the story boring. While the acting really is phenomenal, I don’t watch movies simply for that. The story has to be engaging, and this one was just really difficult to follow.

Most Disappointing TV ShowBones (2005) Poster

Bones: I LOVE BONES. Until the premiere of this season. Since then,
I haven’t watched an episode. I honestly don’t know if I can. I am just too hurt. 😦 Is anyone current? Is it worth continuing to watch?

~*~*~

So there you have it. My biggest disappointments of 2014. Did you feel the same way about any of these? Did you really enjoy any of these? I’m up for discussions, for sure!

And stay tuned for my 2014 Book Superlative Awards later tonight!

Love and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups,
Jennifer

 

6 thoughts on “Most Disappointing of 2014

  1. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    I officially gave up on Bones this year, too. I think I just watched the first episode (whatever episode where “BIG SHOCKING DEATH OF CHARACTER” happened was the last one), though I only watched it sporadically last season.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

