Top Books 2014: Bookish Superlatives!

I have spent the last few days highlighting the best (and worst) of 2014. Now it’s the moment you have been waiting for…..

THE TOP BOOKS OF THE YEAR!

I have read so many amazing books this year, but now it is time to dwindle my list down to the best of the best. To do so, I have to give titles. So here we go!

Best Adult Fiction:

18293427

“[This] speaks to the necessity of encountering stories at precisely the right time in our lives…the things we respond to at twenty are not necessarily the same things we will respond to at forty and vice versa. This is true in books and also in life.”

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

Best Young Adult Fiction:

99561

“Thomas Edison’s last words were ‘It’s very beautiful over there’. I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.”

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Best Juvenile/Middle Grade Fiction:

23302416

“I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.”

Wonder by S.J. Palacio

Best Illustrations, Picture Book:

20708773

Quest by Aaron Becker

Best Illustrations, Comic or Graphic Novel:

arrival

The Arrival by Shaun Tan

Best Listen:

16181775

“And it dawned on me that I had not designed the questionnaire to find a woman I could accept, but to find someone who might accept me.”

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Best in a Series:

8755785

“Heroes aren’t always the ones who win,” she said. “They’re the ones who lose, sometimes. But they keep fighting, they keep coming back. They don’t give up. That’s what makes them heroes.”

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Most Relateable Story:

15749186

“I didn’t fall for you, you tripped me!”

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Most Fun Read:

15704307

“Some people are haunted by their pasts, but not my family. I mean, how can you be haunted by something that never really dies?”

Saga Volumes 1-3 by Brian K. Vaughn, Illustrated by Fiona Staples

Most Inspiring:

17349222

“Forgiveness. The ability to forgive oneself. Stop here for a few breaths and think about this because it is the key to making art, and very possibly the key to finding any semblance of happiness in life. Every time I have set out to translate the book (or story, or hopelessly long essay) that exists in such brilliant detail on the big screen of my limbic system onto a piece of paper (which, let’s face it, was once a towering tree crowned with leaves and a home to birds). I grieve for my own lack of talent and intelligence. Every. Single. Time. Were I smarter, more gifted, I could pin down a closer facsimile of the wonders I see. I believe, more than anything, that this grief of constantly having to face down our own inadequacies is what keeps people from being writers. Forgiveness, therefore, is key. I can’t write the book I want to write, but I can and will write the book I am capable of writing. Again and again throughout the course of my life I will forgive myself.”

This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett

Book that Opened My Eyes:

golden

Golden Boy by Tara Sullivan

~*~*~

And I can’t do a superlative post without giving them to characters!

Most Spunk: Nate Foster (Better Nate than Ever)

“Holy Dance of the Vampires, no! Dance of the Vampires!’ (Instead of cursing, we shout out the titles of legendary Broadway flops.”

 

Greatest Strength: Annie (Breathe, Annie, Breathe)

“All decisions are different in hindsight. Maybe all we can do is make the best decisions we can in the moment, using the best information we have right then.”

 

Best Relationship: Ana and Sam (Infinite)

“I’m afraid, Ana. I’m afraid, and I feel like if I don’t kiss you right now, I’ll break apart.”

 

Most Swoonworthy: Zach (United We Spy)

“I never knew there were this many stars.”

“I can’t see them,” he told me. “I just see you.”

“That’s one of your cheesier lines,” I told him.

“It’s the altitude,” he told me. “I don’t have enough oxygen in my brain.”

 

Best Hero: Kamala Khan (Ms. Marvel)

 “My name is Kamala Khan, and I’m here to take out the trash!”

 

~*~*~

So there we have it. My best of 2014! I guess I will see y’all next year! 🙂

Love and Black-Eyed Peas, for those of you who eat them! (I don’t!),
Jennifer

4 thoughts on “Top Books 2014: Bookish Superlatives!

I'd love to know your thoughts!

