End of the Year Survey 2014!

Happy New Year, everyone!

Welcome to 2015!

This year will bring me a lot of really interesting life changes, and I am excited to see where I will end up by the end of this year.

But this is the beginning of the year, which means I have to really reflect on last year’s experiences.

So, without further ado, the End of the Year Survey, courtesy of Jamie.

reading-stats-2014

Number Of Books You Read: 138

Including Picture Books: 233

Number of Re-Reads: 27

Genre You Read The Most From: Realistic Fiction

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

(If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

Well, I broke it down in this post by highlighting my top ten across the board. But if you are making me pick the one book that I will really keep with me forever, it will be:

99561

 

No question about it. I wrote a letter to John Green about just how this book affected me.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin: I just don’t know how I feel about how this trilogy ended. Still, even a month later.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han: I have read Han’s Summer trilogy and liked it okay, but I completely fell head over heels with EVERYTHING about THIS book! And Lara Jean is my book soul sister. ❤

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

Well, I just read Saga in December, but I have already gotten two coworkers to read it! Plus, one gave it to her husband and son to read, too! So I am sharing the Saga love! 🙂

 5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

Series Started: Saga by Brian Vaughn

Sequel: ummm….Saga? I didn’t actually read any new sequels this year! I reread some second books so that I could read the finales, but not any sequels flat out!

Series Ender: Infinite by Jodi Meadows and City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Gabrielle Zevin! I will be reading some of her backlist next year for sure!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Nonfiction: This is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett–got me reading A LOT more memoirs/nonfiction last year, and I plan on keeping up this trend in 2015!

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart: I sat down to start it, and didn’t get up until I finished. A literal one-sitting book.

 9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Not including books in a series (which I reread when new books-in-series come out), probably The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. I just want to live in that book!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

evil

Because HOW AWESOME IS THAT COVER?!?!

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Lara Jean, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

We Were Liars, The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, Looking for Alaska

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

Looking for Alaska

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read? 

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

“[This] speaks to the necessity of encountering stories at precisely the right time in our lives…the things we respond to at twenty are not necessarily the same things we will respond to at forty and vice versa. This is true in books and also in life.”

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2014?

Shortest (Non-picture or comic volume): Sole Sisters: Stories of Women and Running (144 pages)

Longest: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (725 pages)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Other than We Were Liars or Looking for Alaska? The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)

Cammie and Zach 4evr! The Gallagher Girls Series by Ally Carter

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

 Ivan and Ruby, The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

To include a couple of new books to this list, Better off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg and Landline by Rainbow Rowell.

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

 We Were Liars. I wouldn’t have read it if not for my frand Rachel. 🙂

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

 Jeremiah from Breathe Annie Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

 Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel: This is just a beautiful literary Sci-Fi!

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

 Infinite by Jodi Meadows just expanded that already beautiful and vivid world for me!

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

 THE ROSIE PROJECT by Graeme Simsion: A joy to listen to from beginning to end. It’s funny and quirky and I am in love!

Better Nate than Ever by Tim Federle: SO MUCH FUN!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

 Before I Go by Colleen Oakley: I read it as a galley last week (it comes out this month!) and it just made me cry pretty ugly tears.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

 Golden Boy by Tara Sullivan: A book that I would never have picked up if it weren’t assigned for class. I am really glad it was!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

 Looking for Alaska. 

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

Freakboy by Kristin Elizabeth Clark: Using verse to tell three different yet connected stories in a really beautiful way. Love.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Close My Eyes by Sophie McKenzie: this was a psychological thriller that I was REALLY loving until it took an extra turn that made it more creepy than enjoyable. It just didn’t quite fit into the story in my opinion. It was still a good book, but it did lose some major potential awesomeness with that turn.

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014? 

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts: I love his bluntness and his male POV. Plus, my TV watching would not be the same without him!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014? 

The one in which I lay my raw heart down for all to see: Looking for Alaska review

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

On the Definition of Diversity

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

YALSA symposium. Meeting librarians and authors, going to really awesome panels….It was a great experience and conversation starter.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Getting over 150 blog followers. It makes my heart happy, and I appreciate each and every one of you! 🙂

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Most views this year: My Review of The Westing Game (from 2013, so that’s a little strange to me lol)

Most comments: My TTT about TV….go figure! 🙂

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

My discussion post on Diversity.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

In no particular order: Panels, bookish podcasts (like Bookriot and Oh, Comics), and Bookoutlet

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Not really. Last year I took a break from reading challenges. This year, however, I have a few I want to complete. Here are the ones I am planning on participating in.

looking-ahead-books-2015

 

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

All of the finales that I didn’t get around to! Into the Still Blue, Dreams of Gods and Monsters, Cress, Isla and the Happily Ever After, Timestorm…the list goes on! Sheesh!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

 P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han!

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

 The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

Another Day by David Levithan. 🙂

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

Transition to self-hosting. 🙂

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Well, I’ve only read one 2015 release. It’s Before I Go by Colleen Oakley, and it is not a light read at all. It is emotional and heart-wrenching, but it is really good!

~*~*~

My survey is complete, my 2014 reading life is reviewed.

On to 2015! Huzzah!

Love and Country Fried Chicken,
Jennifer

I'd love to know your thoughts!

