BoutofBooks 12 Updates Post!

Hello Bout-of-Books-ers! Are you ready for this week? Because I AM! 🙂

Bout of Books

This week will be busy–classes starting back up, internships, and working at least part days 5 out of the 7 days. But never fear! I will find a way to read! 🙂

Some Goals For the Week (these are not set in stone, just more like aims): (3/5 ain’t bad!)
  1. Read as much as I can/want to: Because I have a whole stack of books/comics that I am DYING to get to!
  2. Write up at least 2 book reviews: Because once again, I am behind (but only like….3 behind this time!). And I want to stay on top of things this year.
  3. Get through at least 90 minutes of my #fitreaders audiobook: Because that will mean I would have gone walking at least 3 days this week, which is what I need to do to stay on track for the month! (Want to know what I’m talking about? Click on the #FitReaders 2015 page above!)
  4. Watch a couple of movies: Because I will probably be doing that anyway, so I may as well get some credit! 😉
  5. Visit, chat, and mingle: Because that’s what this readathon is really about, am I right?
My Pile O’ Books (I don’t plan on getting through all of these–they are just the library books laying around my house):

My Total Progress:

Books Finished: 5
Pages Read: 976
Minutes Listened To: 308
Movies Watched: 5

~*~*~

Monday, January 5th: The Walking Dead, Vol. 22: A New Beginning

12:01am: YAY IT’S STARTED! I have been trying to decide what to start my readathon with. It has been a very difficult decision! It was going to be Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but I started/finished that after dinner. Whoops! 🙂 So I guess I will be starting with….The Walking Dead Volume 22!

2:00am: Stayed up to finish this volume! I couldn’t help it–it was a really compelling volume! And the best of the series, honestly! Now to wait impatiently for volume 23….

Fat Boy vs the Cheerleaders7:10pm: Well, I listened to about 45 minutes of Fat Boy vs. The Cheerleaders today while commuting to work and running some errands. Right now I am sitting down to watch a movie (When the Game Stands Tall) with my sick hubby, so I won’t get to more reading until later. But that’s okay!

11:55pm: Well, movie + 3-hour Bachelor episode = no more reading for Jennifer today. But I am heading to my bedroom now (because Hubby is sleeping propped up on the couch, bless his sick little heart) so I will be getting some quality reading time before bed!

Monday’s Totals:
Books Started: 2 (The Walking Dead Volume 22 and The Year of Reading Dangerously)
Books Finished: 1 (The Walking Dead Volume 22)
Books Continued: 1 (Fat Boy vs. the Cheerleader)
Pages Read: 136 + 15 = 151 pages
Minutes Listened To: 45 minutes

~*~*~

 Tuesday, January 6th

1:40pm: Well, I have now started The Year of Reading Dangerously,The Year of Reading Dangerously: How Fifty Great Books (and Two Not-So-Great Ones) Saved My Life which is a really interesting reading memoir, for sure. This is not one of those books that I can just sit down and read all at once, though, so Dramanaturally I am going to start another book, too! I am thinking…. DRAMA! 🙂

2:30pm: Okay, I just read that straight through! That was freakin’ adorable! Loved every second of reading that!

11:59pm: Listened to about 30 minutes of audio in the car driving to and from work. That’s it.

Tuesday Totals:
Books Started: 1 (Drama)
Books Finished: 1 (Drama)
Books Continued: 2 (Year of Reading Dangerously, Fat Boy vs. the Cheerleader)
Pages Read: 233 + 57 = 290 pages
Minutes Listened To: 30 minutes

~*~*~

Wednesday, January 7th:

 7:30pm: Well, I must admit. I started a new book before I went to bed this morning….and readGabi, a Girl in Pieces the first 1oo pages because I just. Couldn’t. Stop. Reading. It is SO GOOD!!! What book, you ask? Why, it’s Gabi, A Girl in Pieces! SO GOOD! I am probably going to finish it tonight! 🙂

I also was good today and listened to not only 45 minutes of my car audiobook (Fat Boy) but I also listened to my #fitreaders audiobook (People I want to Punch in the Face) for a 38 minute walk/run session today! I went over 1.5 miles! Little victories!

For now, I am watching Toy Story with my hubby, but I will be participating in the twitter chat tonight!

Character Coupling Challenge: 
Who I would pair together: A New BFF pairing: Bex from Gallagher Girls with Reagan from Fangirl. I have paired them together because they are both a little sassy and forces to be reckoned with! I think that they would actually get a long really well. I could see them both sitting at a table in a coffeeshop/bar and just dishing on people. HILARIOUS!

Wednesday Totals:
Books Started: 1 (Gabi, A Girl in Pieces)
Books Finished: 0
Books Continued: 2 (People I Want to Punch in the Throat, Fat Boy vs. the Cheerleader)
Pages Read: 186
Minutes Listened To: 83 minutes

~*~*~

Thursday, January 8th

12:45am: Well, I didn’t finish Gabi Wednesday because Hubby started watching Mulan, and I couldn’t resist….IT’S SO GOOD! But I am going to my bed to snuggle and stay warm and read as much as I can before I fall asleep!

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender10:45pm: Well, today has been a busy and productive day! Went to my middle school internship for the first day back and got to help so many 8th graders find good books for their next book projects. It was a lot of fun to share some of my favorite reads with new readers! 🙂 And then I came home and shortly left for my first on-campus class in a year! But it is so worth the 2 hour round trip to take this class! I am really excited about it! Also, driving around today gave me SO MUCH audiobook time! I finished Fat Boy vs. The Cheerleaders (SUCH A GOOD LISTEN, Y’ALL!) and started The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. I am not sure  how I feel about it, but it’s intriguing.

Also, I FINISHED GABI AND IT IS SERIOUSLY AMAZING! Don’t let the cover scare you…..it is SUCH a good read! Such an IMPORTANT book for YA. I will sing praises from the mountain tops (and twitter) foreverrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Now, Toy Story II! 🙂

Thursday Totals:
Books Started: 1 (The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender)
Books Finished: 2 (Gabi, A Girl in Pieces and Fat Boy vs. The Cheerleaders)
Pages Read: 100 pages
Minutes Listened To: 130  minutes

~*~*~

Friday, January 9th

12:30pm: Well, today is an off day from everything, which means it’s my errands and school Alex As Wellwork day! I have already made a couple of appointments and I’m about to go to the grocery store. Which means more audiobook time! Yippee! Also, I started Alex As Well. It’s definitely got some interesting inner monologue stuff going on. I’m only about 10% through the galley right now, so we shall see how it continues! Cheers!

9:00pm: Finished Alex As Well. Had some serious mixed feelings about it. Like to the point where I cannot adequately rate it, which is very rare for me. Hmmmm. I may pick up one of my comics and spend some time with that now.

Friday Totals:
Books Started: 1 (Alex as Well)
Books Finished: 1 (Alex as Well)
Books Continued: 1 (Ava Lavender)
Pages Read: 224
Minutes Listened To: 20 minutes

Saturday, January 10th:

Leaving Time6:15pm: Or maybe I decided to watch the entire Master Chef Junior season 2 on Hulu. 🙂 But that’s okay, because now my hold on Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult has FINALLY BEEN FILLED, so I will be starting that tonight! Been waiting since OCTOBER! SQUEEEEE!

Saturday Totals:
Nothing worth reporting

Sunday, January 11th:

I can already tell you I have ZERO time for bookish things today. Work and then the Golden Globes. So my #boutofbooks is officially over. Not too shabby, honestly! 🙂

Thanks for chatting with me this week!

12 thoughts on “BoutofBooks 12 Updates Post!

  1. Pragya says:

    Wow, you already made progress. Love your goals, esp the movies bit, lol. That’s an interesting reading list. I just go to know about the challenge, joining in. All the best!

    • Jennifer @ A Librarian's Library says:

      OOOOOOH I am really enjoying it! I like Miller’s writing style, and the book itself is part memoir and part book summary, but the summarizing is not over-powering, and he only summarizes the books in a way that furthers his memoir story. I just really love reading about what people think about books and why they picked them up in the first place. 🙂

I'd love to know your thoughts!

