When You Are In A Reading Slump….

confessions

….your blogging suffers a bit. Clearly.

This has been an extremely busy semester for me. This is also the first semester that I haven’t had a lit-based class, which means that my required reading is not children’s and young adult literature, but rather interesting research articles about technology and learning.

Also, and as shocking as this is to me, I have found myself

not in the mood to read.

*GASP*

I really cannot attribute it to my school work. I honestly have just turned to watching a lot more these last 3 months. I have been watching like CRAZY! As you all know, I am completely obsessed with like 500 TV shows, and I have been watching those.

But I have also watched 70 movies/documentaries this year. Already. Which is such a crazy number, especially because I used to not watch many movies. But this year, I am kind of obsessed with film, too!

Which is probably why my blogging has suffered a bit. I have just been in a “I would rather watch a movie than read a book” mood for a while. And then the books I do try and pick up just don’t seem to really hold my interest. Even the audiobooks I have tried listening to lately…

This is such a weird place for me to be in. But I am not hating it.

Maybe I just needed a change of scenery.

I have been watching some pretty FABULOUS films, and I will write up some blog posts featuring them soon.

But when you are a book blog, and you are not reading many books, what are you supposed to write about?

I haven’t really figured out the answer to that. Do you have any suggestions? What kinds of posts would you like to see? I need some help! I want to blog, and I want to write content. I have just been at a loss lately.

Thank you for your patience.

Love and Downton (my newest obsession),
Jennifer

14 thoughts on “When You Are In A Reading Slump….

  1. Claire says:

    how sad to see you’re in such a slump 😦
    I’ve had the same for past half a year but recently started reading and blogging agan.
    I love to see many things on blogs, I really like lifestyle blogs πŸ™‚
    or reviews of the films you’ve seen? πŸ™‚
    just some thoughts.
    hope you’ll get through the slump πŸ˜›

    • Jennifer @ A Librarian's Library says:

      Thanks for your thoughts. I have definitely thought about at least writing up some posts about the movies I have been watching. i don’t think I know enough to properly review them. I also may write up some “life” type posts. So thank you!

  2. sharlenehsmith says:

    If the films are book adaptations, then that is #bookish, so I’m all for that and I honestly don’t think the book blogging community will mind reading a few non-related posts. (I hope…I certainly don’t mind). Go for gold and post whatever you want to share

  3. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know says:

    I’ve been in a slump that started in February. I’ve never had a slump that’s lasted this long before. I’m still reading, but lately I’ve struggled with finding the right book for my mood. Luckily, I’m a planner and so I do have some reviews scheduled ahead. I’ve cut back on reviewing 3 books a week to 2 so that I don’t run out of my stash too quickly. I think this is the first time my reading slump has actually been a bit of a blogging slump too. I say all of this to say that I don’t have an answer to your questions, but I do feel your pain.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

