Why I am Upset with Shonda and Veronica

confessions

Warning: This post contains MASSIVE spoilers for Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy and Grey’s Anatomy. Proceed at your own risk.

17383918I finished Allegiant the week that it came out, back in October 2013. I never wrote a review about my feelings because I just couldn’t express them coherently.

But then I watched Grey’s Anatomy a couple of weeks ago. Yes, THAT episode. That episode where a beloved McDreamy exits the show after 11 seasons. The episode that caused such an uproar on social media.

And I finally figured out how I felt about Allegiant. Because those feelings came right back after that episode.

I felt cheated. I felt incredibly cheated. Cheated from the endings that these characters deserved. Both Veronica and Shonda treated these characters–and their fans’ emotions–like crap. As fans, we are INVESTED in these characters. We understand and know and feel for and with these characters. They are a part of our lives. And yes, I am fully aware that characters die. Even characters that we love. That is a part of life, and as fans we accept that.

It’s when the death does not get the tender care that it deserves that upsets me. As a fan, characters deserve to die the same way that they lived: fully, beautifully, with purpose. Allegiant fails with Tris, just as Grey’s fails with Derrick. In both of these instances, there are holes. Their stories are both rushed, and there are massive holes, and losing them–which should have devastated us–only upset us and made us angry.

Allegiant was a trilogy finale that was completely absurd. The book was a massive info-dump of “Let me explain ALL THE THINGS in a very short amount of time.” Everything was rushed, and then, at the moment of realization of what is about to happen, I am not prepared. And not because it was a shock that Tris was going to die, but I was not emotionally primed. I felt no emotions at all–I just didn’t care. And I SHOULD have cared. Tris is such an iconic character, and she was one of the first main YA gals to die in a dystopia trilogy. And yet I felt nothing. And that really upset me, because I wanted to feel something. I should have felt something. But I didn’t get the opportunity to feel, to grieve. It was taken from me by less-than-stellar writing.

Derrick’s death was completely ridiculous. There were SO MANY holes in the way things went down. SO MANY! And it was rushed. RUSHED! It was the sloppiest writing Shonda has ever done, and it was wrong. I don’t care if she and Patrick were having problems with their professional relationship, she could have sucked it up in order to write an ending that Derrick deserved, and one that the fans deserved. 11 seasons we have watched, we have felt, we have loved. And to have the opportunity to grieve him, to feel his death in the way we felt Mark and Lexie and George and Adele and countless others. In one season we got the one of the best emotional episodes of the series–when Avery and Kepner’s baby died–and the absolute worst episode of the series, period. There was no care, no attention, no consideration taken in writing that episode, and that upset the masses.

Fandoms are fandoms, and fans are fans because of their connections to the characters and their stories, and to rob us…to rob me of the opportunity to feel the loss, to grieve the loss. This is why I am upset. I have never cared that Tris or Derrick died….losses happen, and they can happen beautifully even. But the fact that the crappy writing prevented me from caring as I should makes me wonder why I even bother. If the writers don’t care about their characters enough to write them the endings they deserve, why should I?

~*~*~

Love and Buttered Popcorn,
Jennifer

10 thoughts on “Why I am Upset with Shonda and Veronica

  1. Melanie says:

    I remember my initial response to Allegiant and its ending was that Tris’s death was only done for shock value. I felt much like you did in that, I didn’t have much time to mourn for her and that felt awkward because that feeling should have been there. Yet, I didn’t feel much of anything nor did I feel that sense of shock that I believe Roth was going for because Tris’s decision to sacrifice herself just wasn’t surprising to me. I may go back and read the trilogy again in the future and see if my feelings change.

    Great comparison!

  2. Lifewithcassandra says:

    I’ve been dealing with this crappy move by SHONDA as well. She treated Derek’s death like he was just a random character , the episodes that followed his death did not make any impact whatsoever . It was like she is in a rush for everyone to forget about derek , seriously the time jump just made me so angry . In the case of Veronica , I struggled halfway through Insurgent and I’ve decided at the moment I don’t want to bother with the plot . Yeah , SHONDA Rhimes is a serial killer.

    • Jennifer @ A Librarian's Library says:

      Considering how the death episode went, I actually thought last week’s episode was realistic. It allowed for all of the Grey’s characters to grieve in their own ways, which I really liked and appreciated. Especially because a death like Derek’s isn’t going to be dealt with in a couple of days. I think the time jump allows for viewers to see the grieving process in full. But I do agree, it still probably won’t be enough.

  3. Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts says:

    While I agree that the bulk of the the 10~70% mark of the story was nonsense, I was actually okay with how things happened. This isn’t to be confused with me being okay with how it was developed.

    While part of that exposure to feel all the feels may lie in the timeliness of the reading experience, the biggest problem for why I think people felt ire for the ending is really, IMO, in the using Four as a POV. Was it a necessary in scope? Perhaps, although I think a Four POV epilogue would have been much more successful by itself. The signs were there that the ending would have happened that way. It was almost self-fulfilling. It was just that it wasn’t handled well. I think we’re just taken out of Tris’ struggles a bit (albeit being bombarded with it during Insurgent) so readers may fail to gauge her moral dilemma of being a divergent (and more-so looking at abnegation/selflessness as a driving force for her final sacrificial action). I’m sure there’s more I could say but my head hurts LOL.

    (Also, I wrote all the above just so I could say: what I’m NOT okay with was how Uriah was handled. Way worse than Tris, imo.)

    Cheers,
    Joey

    • Jennifer @ A Librarian's Library says:

      AGREE! I didn’t like the Four POV at all! (I almost didn’t even start it when I realized that it switched). But because she couldn’t just have her narrator DIE before the end of the book, someone else had to step in to tell the story…..that’s just bad writing. If she knew, then Insurgent should have been from Four’s perspective. THAT would have made more sense.

      And I COMPLETELY AGREE ABOUT URIAH. AND TORI! Uggggggh. It was just like “WHOOPS!”. THAT IS NOT OKAY!

      The ending would have been great had the 75%leading up to it not been crap. If the pacing and development had felt real and genuine, I think the ending would have been beautiful and powerful. As it stands, that whole book was just crap.

I'd love to know your thoughts!

